Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) issues notice to deregister 21 political parties


The Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) says it has given notice of its intention to deregister 21 political parties.

“The parties who do not have representation in a legislature are required in terms of the Electoral Commission Act (51 of 1996) to renew their registration annually. Parties have until 29 August 2014 to renew their registration,” said the IEC on Friday.

It said the affected parties have been advised of the cancellation in writing and their names were also published in the local newspaper where they are registered.

Once this process has been completed a notice of deregistration will be published in the Government Gazette.

The affected parties include:

-       African National Party

-       Black Consciousness Party

-       Cape Agulhas Ratepayers Association

-       Community Coalition

-       Dagga Party

-       Democratic Action Party

-       God's People's Party

-       Khoisan Party

-       Local Government Party

-       National Democratic Convention

-       People Centered Alliance

-       Phumelela Ratepayers' Association

-       Plettenberg Bay Community Forum

-       Simunye in Christ Organisation

-       Socialist Green Coalition

-       South African Business Party

-       South Cape Community Forum

-       The Real Party

-       United Action Front

-       Women Forward

-       World Solidarity Movement