Nominations to Department of Labour’s inaugural EE Awards System closes tomorrow as spotlight shift to EE Indaba and CEE Report launch


The closing date for the submission of nomination forms to participate in the inaugural Employment Equity (EE) Awards to be hosted by the Commission for Employment Equity (CEE) is 13 March 2015. Invitation to participate in this milestone event opened in January 2015.

The Commission for Employment Equity (CEE) serves as an advisory body to Labour Minister, Mildred Oliphant, on the implementation of the Employment Equity Act.  In terms of Section 30(2) of the Act, the CEE will be hosting an Employment Equity Awards event in accordance with Section 30(2) of the Act. The awards seek to recognise employers that furthered the purpose of the Act and excel in capturing the true spirit of transformation by:

  • Promoting equal opportunity, diversity and fair treatment in employment and for the elimination of unfair discrimination;
  • implementing affirmative action measures to redress the disadvantages in employment experienced by designated groups (i.e. black people, women and people with disabilities); and
  • Ensuring that suitably qualified people from designated groups have equal employment opportunities and have equitable representation in all occupational levels in the workplace.

The EE Awards System (the System) adopts a Hurdles Model that requires participating employers to successfully pass two hurdles, i.e. basic compliance and progressive compliance before being considered for excellent achievement.

All participants must complete a nomination form to participate in the Awards process. Nomination forms must be fully and accurately completed and must be accompanied by the required supporting documentation and evidence for verification and adjudication purposes. Employers participating in may require qualifying employers to be subjected to site visits as well.

The launching of the 15th CEE Annual Report and the Public Register is expected to take place on the same date as the Awards event in July 2015.


IMAGE courtesy of