A few Bomb Squad members in action!



Malcolm Marx wears the no. 2 jersey against Argentina at Ellis Park, while players such as Manie Libbok, Grant Williams and Kurt-Lee Arendse are also in the starting team.

Duane Vermeulen will, just as he did in the opening match of the Rugby Championship against Australia, take the reins of captaincy again.

“This is a top quality team that has the necessary skills to beat Argentina. There is a good balance between experience and young players; something that is very important in the run-up to the World Cup rugby tournament,” said Jacques Nienaber.

A total of nine changes have been made to the team that went down 35-20 against New Zealand in Auckland two weeks ago.

“The result against the All Blacks was very disappointing, but we have a plan ready that will hopefully not only allow us to pick the best team for the World Cup, but will also ensure that we are at our best at the right time.”

Marx, along with Steven Kitshoff and Frans Malherbe, will try to block the Argentine forward attack, while Marvin Orie will line up with Eben Etzebeth.

Williams forms an exciting link pair with Libbok, while Arendse and Cheslin Kolbe are a wing combination that can certainly cause headaches.

Jesse Kriel will also play in his first Springbok game of the year.

However, Nienaber warned that the South Africans will have to fire on all cylinders from the outset; After all, Argentina can be dangerous opponents.

“They have shown in their last two games that they are a force to be reckoned with and we have to be at our sharpest from the kick-off. Argentina pride themselves on their game in the set pieces and they know exactly how to capitalize on your mistakes.”

The match kicks off at 17:05 on Saturday and the action will be broadcast live on SuperSport.

Springboks: Willie le Roux (full back), Cheslin Kolbe (right wing), Jesse Kriel (outside centre), Damian de Allende (inside centre), Kurt-Lee Arendse (left wing), Manie Libbok (fly-half), Grant Williams (scrum-half), Duane Vermeulen (eighth man and captain), Pieter-Steph du Toit (flank), Marco van Staden (flank), Marvin Orie (lock), Eben Etzebeth (lock), Frans Malherbe (prop), Malcolm Marx (hooker) and Steven Kitshoff (prop). Substitutes: Bongi Mbonambi, Trevor Nyakane, Vincent Koch, Kwagga Smith, RG Snyman, Faf de Klerk, Lukhanyo Am and Damian Willemse.

Results of the last ten matches between South Africa and Argentina (Springboks score first):

19 August 2017: 37–15 in Gqeberha

26 August 2017: 41–23 in Salta

18 August 2018: 34–21 in Durban

August 25, 2018: 19–32 in Mendoza

10 August 2019: 46–13 in Salta

17 August 2019: 24–18 in Pretoria

14 August 2021: 32–12 in Gqeberha

21 August 2021: 29–10 in Gqeberha

September 17, 2022: 36–20 in Buenos Aires

24 September 2022: 38–21 in Durban.