Ricochet News

Gordhan, Jonas, Hanekom, Peters and Ramatlhodi axed from Zuma's new Cabinet

Mar 31, 2017
Gordhan, Jonas, Hanekom, Peters and Ramatlhodi axed from Zuma's new Cabinet

Ending days of speculation, President Jacob Zuma on Thursday fired Pravin Gordhan and his Deputy, former Eastern Cape MEC for Economic Development, Mcebisi Jonas, when he made changes to the National Executive "in order to improve efficiency and effectiveness".

There had been rumours of an impending Cabinet reshuffle after Gordhan and Jonas were abruptly recalled from an investor roadshow in the UK and the US that was meant to assure investors that South Africa is open to business.

Tourism Minister Derek Hanekom, Transport Minister, Dipuo Peters, and Public Service and Administration Minister, Ngoako Ramatlhodi, were also fired.

“The changes bring some younger MPs and women into the National Executive in order to benefit from their energy, experience and expertise.

“I have directed the new Ministers and Deputy Ministers to work tirelessly with their colleagues to bring about radical socio-economic transformation and to ensure that the promise of a better life for the poor and the working class becomes a reality,” the President said in a statement in the early hours of Friday morning.

The weel-respected Gordhan has been replaced by former African National Congress (ANC) Youth League president, Malusi Gigaba, who was the Minister of Home Affairs, while Sifiso Buthelezi will fill Jonas's position.

Hanekom's dismissal perhaps comes not as a surprise as he has been a vocal critic of the President and reportedly led motion of no confidence against Zuma at a recent ANC National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting. He has been replaced by Tokozile Xasa, while Peters will be replaced by Joe Maswanganyi.

The full list of cabinet changes is as follows; 


1.    Minister of Energy, Mmamoloko “Nkhensani” Kubayi

2.    Minister of Transport, Joe Maswanganyi

3.    Minister of Finance, Malusi Gigaba

4.    Minister of Police, Fikile Mbalula

5.    Minister of Public Works, Nathi Nhleko,

6.    Minister of Sports and Recreation, Thembelani Nxesi

7.    Minister of Tourism, Tokozile Xasa

8.    Minister of Public Service and Administration, Faith Muthambi

9.    Minister of Home Affairs, Prof Hlengiwe Mkhize

10. Minister of Communications, Ayanda Dlodlo

Deputy Ministers

1.    Deputy Minister of Public Service and Administration, Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba

2.    Deputy Minister of Finance, Sifiso Buthelezi

3.    Deputy Minister of Public Enterprises, Ben Martins

4.    Deputy Minister of Arts and Culture, Maggie Sotyu

5.    Deputy Minister of Trade and Industry, Gratitude Magwanishe

6.    Deputy Minister of Communications, Thandi Mahambehlala,

7.    Deputy Minister of Tourism, Elizabeth Thabethe

8.    Deputy Minister of Police, Bongani Mkongi

9.    Deputy Minister of Telecommunications and Postal Services, Stella Ndabeni-Abrahams

10. Deputy Minister of Small Business Development, Nomathemba November.

“I wish to extend my gratitude to the outgoing Ministers and Deputy Ministers for their service to the country. I also wish the new Ministers and Deputy Ministers the best in their new responsibilities,” the President said.

– aditional reporting SAnews.gov.za