Ricochet News

Nene, Godhan, Nzimande and Hanekom make return in Ramaphosa's Cabinet

Feb 26, 2018
Nene, Godhan, Nzimande and Hanekom make return in Ramaphosa's Cabinet

President Cyril Ramaphosa on Monday night announced his new Cabinet. 

Former Finance Minister, Nhlanhla Nene, made a return as new Minister of Finance pending his swearing in as an MP. He was once unceremoniously fired by former President Jacob Zuma and replaced by David (Des) van Rooyen.

Former Finance Minister, Pravin Gordhan, who was also sacked by Zuma made a return as Minister of Public Enterprises.

Dereck Hanekom, who also was fired by Zuma, made a dramatic return to his Tourism portfolio.

So did former Minister of Higher Education, Blade Nzimande, who was also fired after the South African Communist Party (SACP) banned Zuma from speaking at its meetings and events.

David Dabede Mabuza, the Premier of Mpumalanga and Deputy President of the African National Congress (ANC), will become Ramaphosa's Deputy as Deputy President.

Meanwhile, Minister of Police, Fikile Mbalula, has been replaced by former National Police Commissioner, Bheki Cele.

Former ANC Secretary-General, Gwede Mantashe, is the new Minister of Mineral Resources.

Dropped from Ramaphosa's new cabinet are Mosebenzi Zwane, who was at Mineral Resources; Des van Rooyen, who was at Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs; Lynne Brown, who was at Public Enterprises; Faith Muthambi, who was at Communications; Bongani Bingo, who was at State Security, and David Mahlobo, who was at Energy.

Many of the sacked Ministers had been fingered in corruption and state capture.

While many would have wanted to see Bathabile Dlamini gone, she was moved to the Presidency, apparently saved by her ANC Women's League leadership, ANC National Executive Committee (NEC) position, and her struggle credentials.

Ramaphosa also extended an olive branch to his competitor in the race to succeed Zuma last year, his ex-wife and former African Union (AU) Chairperson, Dr Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma. She is now a Minister in the Presidency responsible for planning.

Ramaphosa's cabinet:

  1. Nomvula Mokonyane - Minister of Communications;
  2. Zweli Mkhize - Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs;
  3. Jeff Radebe - Minister of Energy;
  4. Nhlanhla Nene - Minister of Finance;
  5. Naledi Pandor - Minister of Higher Education and Training;
  6. Malusi Gigaba - Minister of Home Affairs;
  7. Nomaindia Mfeketo - Minister of Human Settlements;
  8. Lindiwe Sisulu - Minister of International Relations and Cooperation;
  9. Gwede Mantashe - Minister of Mineral Resources;
  10. Bheki Cele - Minister of Police;
  11. Pravin Gordhan - Minister of Public Enterprises;
  12. Ayanda Dlodlo - Minister of Public Service and Administration;
  13. Thulas Nxesi - Minister of Public Works;
  14. Maite Nkoana-Mashabane - Minister of Rural Development and Land Reform;
  15. Nkhensani Kubayi-Ngubane - Minister of Science and Technology;
  16. Susan Shabangu - Minister of Social Development;
  17. Tokozile Xasa - Minister of Sport and Recreation;
  18. Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba - Minister of State Security;
  19. Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma - Minister of The Presidency – Planning, Monitoring and Evaluation;
  20. Bathabile Dlamini - Minister of The Presidency – Women;
  21. Derek Hanekom - Minister of Tourism;
  22. Blade Nzimande - Minister of Transport; and
  23. Gugile Nkwinti - Minister of Water and Sanitation.