Ricochet News

2016 Nelson Mandela Bay Train Race – Machine bests Man this year

By Jesica Slabbert - Oct 3, 2016
2016 Nelson Mandela Bay Train Race – Machine bests Man this year

The annual Nelson Mandela Bay (NMB) Train Race again delivered great fun and thrills for local families and running teams.

The race kicked off at 9am on Sunday, with 150 teams signed up to race the train from the Port Elizabeth Train Station to the Uitenhage Train Station in the hopes of beating the machine.

However, it was not to be so as this year, the winner was Metrorail and Prasa, as the train made it to the station about 6 minutes before the first team did, in a time of 1:43:28.

Last year, Gamble Pharmacy managed to beat the train and came first, but this year the train was just a little bit faster and landed them in second place, to a time of 1:49:08.

Teams for the train race are made up of five runners, and one Mountain Bike Cyclist, with the route divided into six stages to cover a distance of 38km.

Through this event, the organisers draw attention to the needs of those living within the communities along the route and would like to highlight the fantastic work that the non-profit organisation; Love Story, are doing to assist such communities.

There were five different categories for teams, such as Schools, Athletics Clubs, Social Teams, Corporate and Individual.

School Placing:

1st – Swartkops Primary School

2nd – Uitenhage High School

Athletics Clubs:

1st – Despatch Athletics Club

2nd – Vukani Chiefs Club

3rd – Spar Athletics Club

Social Teams:

1st – The Pharmacy Runners

2nd – The Super Troopers

3rd – Red Steam Runners

Corporate Teams:

1st – Gamble Pharmacy

2nd – Spar EC

3rd – Tobies

Individual Category:

1st – Bruce Gee

2nd – Robertus Martuis