Ricochet News

Ackermann announces Lions team for Hurricanes match

Ackermann announces Lions team for Hurricanes match

Xerox Golden Lions coach, Johan Ackermann, has named his official team who will be taking on the Hurricanes in their first Super Rugby encounter at Emirates Park on Friday.

Springbok, Warren Whiteley, will be leading the team as captain, with Ackermann including two other Boks in the squad, namely flyhalves Marnitz Boshoff and Elton Jantjies.

“Unlike other franchises who selected more than one captain, I’ve decided on just one in Warren, but we have good back-up as leaders as well,” Ackermann said.

Lions team for Hurricanes match:

15. Andries Coetzee, 14. Ruan Combrinck, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Howard Mnisi, 11. Courtnall Skosan, 10. Marnitz Boshoff, 9. Ross Cronje, 8. Warren Whiteley (captain), 7. Derick Minnie, 6. Jaco Kriel, 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Martin Muller, 3. Ruan Dreyer, 2. Malcolm Marx, 1. Schalk van der Merwe

Substitutes: 16. Armand van der Merwe, 17. Corne Fourie, 18. Jacques van Rooyen, 19. Robert Kruger, 20. Warwick Tecklenburg, 21. Faf de Klerk, 22. Elton Jantjies, 23. Stokkies Hanekom


IMAGE courtesy of www.citizen.co.za