Ricochet News

Blitzboks potential favourites in Pool B of Olympic Sevens

Blitzboks potential favourites in Pool B of Olympic Sevens

The Olympic Games Sevens tournament draws have been finalised, with three groups of four teams in each being collaborated.

The top two teams in each pool will automatically advance, while the two wildcard places will go to the two best third-places out of the three groups. The eight advancing teams will then make up the quarter-finals en route to an Olympic medal.

South Africa was seeded second best and is grouped with Australia, France and the recent qualified, Spain in Pool B. Spain recently qualified for the Olympic Sevens with a dramatic upset 22-19 victory over Samoa in a repechage tournament final two weeks ago.

The Blitzboks are considerable favourites in their pool, with frequent victories over Australia and France respectively.  However, the latter two teams cannot be underestimated – as they have beaten South Africa when it has counted before and they do heed much potential.

History will count to no team’s favour, as all teams will battle it up from square one to obtain the first ever Olympic Sevens medals.  

Pool C is deemed the pool of death, with New Zealand, Great Britain (England, Scotland and Wales combined), Kenya and Japan – with three of the four teams posing a threat to receiving an Olympic medal.

2016 Rio Olympic Sevens Pools:

Pool A: Fiji, USA, Argentina, Brazil

Pool B: South Africa, Australia, France, Spain

Pool C: New Zealand, Great Britain, Kenya, Japan