Ricochet News

Call for submissions to the Commission of Inquiry into no-fee tertiary education

MAY 3, 2016
Call for submissions to the Commission of Inquiry into no-fee tertiary education

The President of the Republic of South Africa has, in terms of Proclamation No. 1 of 2016, published in the Government Gazette of 22 January 2016, established a Commission of Inquiry to inquire into the feasibility of a fee-free higher education and training in South Africa.

The members of the Commission are: Judge Jonathan Arthur Heher, a retired Judge of the Supreme Court of Appeal, who is the Chairperson of the Commission; Mr Gregory Ally, a practising advocate; and Ms Leah Thabisile Khumalo, a practising attorney. 

It will conduct its primary business at the Kempton Park Civic Centre, corner of CR Swart and Pretoria streets, Kempton Park.

In accordance with the published terms of reference, the Commission shall enquire into, report on and make recommendations on the following:

“1.  The feasibility of making higher education and training (higher education) fee- free in South Africa, having regard to:

1.1 the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, all relevant higher and basic education legislation, all findings and recommendations of the various Presidential and Ministerial Task Teams, as well as all relevant educational policies, reports and guidelines;

1.2 the multiple facets of financial sustainability, analysing and assessing the role of government together with its agencies, students, institutions, business sector and employers in funding higher education and training; and

1.3 the institutional independence and autonomy which should occur vis a vis the financial funding model.”

The Commission is required to complete its work within a period of eight (8) months from the date of publication of the Commission’s terms of reference (22 January 2016). The Commission is required to submit its final report to the President within two months from the date on which the Commission completes its work.

Interested parties including (but not limited to) stakeholders in the higher education and training sector, students, parents, business community, organs of State and community based organisations are invited to make written submissions to the Commission on issues which fall within the Commission’s terms of reference.

Deadline for submissions: Tuesday, 31 May 2016.

Submissions may be made in any of the official languages.

Submissions must include:

(a)  The full names and contact details of the person/s or entity making the submission;

(b)  An indication of the person and/ or entity on whose behalf the submission is being made;

(c)  A full list of source documents referred to in the submissions;

(d)  An indication of the willingness of such person or institution to present oral submission to the Commission, if called upon to do so;

(e)  The language in which such person or institution shall prefer to make oral submission and

(f)   The convenient timeframe and venue on which such person or institution shall be available to present oral evidence.

Submissions to be addressed to:

The Secretary
Commission of Inquiry into Higher Education and Training
P. O. Box 13Kempton Park
Or hand delivered at Kempton Park Civic Centre (corner of CR Swart and Pretoria streets)
E-Mail:[email protected]
Fax No.:086 682 6936
Website: www.justice.gov.za/commissions/FeesHET

Submissions can also be submitted to the nearest Magistrate’s Court.