Ricochet News

Chiefs set a PSL record

Chiefs set a PSL record

Kaizer Chiefs beat Ajax Cape Town 1-0 in their ABSA Premier Soccer League (PSL) match at the Cape Town Stadium on Sunday. In doing so, the Amakhosi also set a new PSL record of 15 consecutive wins which started at the end of last year. 

The record was previously held by Mamelodi Sundowns who had won 14 consecutive games in 2007.

"We are delighted with the result and the way we showed character," said coach, Stuart Baxter.

Baxter had named his team for the match, with no out-and-out strikers, as Kingston Nkhatha was unavailable due to flu and Bernard Parker side-lined because of an ankle injury, while Ajax had welcomed back Keagan Dolly and Rivaldo Coetzee, both of whom played for Bafana Bafana against Congo last week.

Chiefs midfielder,Siphiwe Tshabalala, started the game off along with Left winger,George Lebese, midfielder, George Maluleka and midfielder, Mandla Masango.

Ajax midfielder, Dolly, took the first shot at scoring a goal in the 13th minute, but his efforts were a bust as the ball headed over the crossbar.

Chiefs scored the first and only goal of the game in the 49th minute, when Tefu Mashamaite headed the ball past Ajax goalkeeper, Anssi Jaakkola.

Amakhosi bagged three points against Ajax, taking them to the top of the PSL log with ten points.

They will next be facing Moroka Swallows at the FNB Stadium in Johannesburg on the 22nd of October.


Photo Caption: Stuart Baxter happy with the PSL results. Photo courtesy of www.soccerladuma.co.za