Ricochet News

Coega receives yet another esteemed award

Coega receives yet another esteemed award

Coega Industrial Development (IDZ) Zone has been recognised and awarded as one of the top 50 companies in the Nelson Mandela Bay (NMB).

The CDC received the esteemed award from the Executive Mayor of the City of the Nelson Mandela Bay (NMB) Dr Danny Jordaan, at the Business Breakfast Awards held in Newton Park Port Elizabeth on 3 March.

Christopher Mashigo, CDC Executive Manager Business Development, who received the award on behalf of CDC said, “We are immensely proud of the achievement, being recognised by the highest office in the city is a sign that the CDC is doing a great job to stimulate growth and development in the NMB.”

The awards were handed over at the prestigious event that was attended by captains of industry and members of the Mayoral Executive Committee in the NMBM.

“The panel of judges were largely impressed by the services that the CDC offers to investors. The CDC has world class infrastructure such as roads and ICT.

“Our success in investment attraction over the years has translated to 31 operational investors with over 14 International Companies and 17 home-grown companies,” added Mashigo.

“What was most pleasing was CDC being recognised for its sterling consistent performance as an organisation; this was validated by the number of awards the CDC has managed to receive in the past couple of years.”

Some of the other companies who scooped the prestigious  awards included those located in the Coega IDZ, namely Air Products, Agni Steel SA, Coega Dairy, FAW, Discovery, Cerebos and Afrox.

“It’s gratifying to know that companies in the Ceoga IDZ have been recognised and are held in high regard for the immense contribution they make in the city. As the Coega IDZ, nothing can make us more proud,” added Mashigo.


CAPTIONCDC young professionals celebrating outside of the offices of the CDC with the certificate the CDC received at the Top 50 Awards Business Breakfast. (left to right) Sivuyisiwe Solala, Nkosikhona Nteleko, Thobisa Matiso, Thato Qhusheka, Phakama Magadla and Mpumelelo Booi.