Ricochet News

Dobson names WP team for semi-finals clash

Oct 13, 2015
Dobson names WP team for semi-finals clash

DHL Western Province Stormers coach, John Dobson, has named his team who will be taking on the Vodacom Blue Bulls in their Currie Cup semi-finals clash at Loftus Versfeld in Pretoria on Friday evening.

Fullback Cheslin Kolbe, winger Seabelo Senatla, centre Johnny Kotze, lock Ruan Botha, prop Steven Kitshoff and hooker Bongi Mbonambi will all be returning to Province’s starting line-up this week.

Flanker, Rynhardt Elstadt, will also be returning to the field this week, after sitting out of the Stormers last four encounters, due to a thigh injury.

Juan de Jongh will lead his team onto the field in Pretoria, and will be partnering up with Johnny Kotze in midfield, with Senatla, Dillyn Leyds and Kolbe forming a razor-sharp back three.

Nic Groom and Robert du Preez have been placed at halfback, with Jano Vermaak back on the bench after missing the last two matches with a groin strain.

Prop Oli Kebble has been placed on the bench, and is joined by lock, Chris van Zyl.

“Having players like Rynhardt and Jano back in our 22 is a big boost for us, given that they’re both experienced players who have played in games of this nature before, Dobson told the Stormers official website.

“Our average (matchday squad) age is just over 23; Dillyn Leyds, Johnny Kotze, Rob du Preez, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Wilco Louw, Mikey Willemse, Jurie van Vuuren and Huw Jones are all playing in their first-ever Absa Currie Cup semifinals – so any additional experience can only help those players and, of course, the team on the whole.

“We have had a short week, but it’s been a sharp one as we look to take on a Blue Bulls team that has been excellent at home this season and, thus, deserving of hosting a home semifinal,” he added.

Western Province:

15. Cheslin Kolbe, 14. Dillyn Leyds, 13. Johnny Kotze, 12. Juan de Jongh (captain), 11. Seabelo Senatla, 10. Robert du Preez, 9. Nic Groom, 8. Nizaam Carr, 7. Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 6. Rynhardt Elstadt, 5. Ruan Botha, 4. Jean Kleyn, 3. Wilco Louw, 2. Bongi Mbonambi, 1. Steven Kitshoff


16. Michael Willemse, 17. Oli Kebble, 18. Chris van Zyl, 19. Jurie van Vuuren, 20. Jano Vermaak, 21. Kurt Coleman, 22. Huw Jones


IMAGE supplied by wprugby.com