Ricochet News

Duncan happy that Springbok players return

Duncan happy that Springbok players return

Toyota Free State Cheetahs coach, Rory Duncan, has said that he is delighted to have lock Lood de Jager, flanker Teboho Mohoje and prop Trevor Nyakane back on the team for the Currie Cup match against the Xerox Golden Lions at Ellis Park on Saturday.

The trio featured in the recent Rugby Championship for the Springboks, making them unavailable to their provincial side.

Bok prop, Coenie Oosthuizen, who was also supposed to return to the team, has been called up to train with the South African Rugby Union and will not be able to participate in the game this weekend.

"We are very glad to have Teboho, Trevor and Lood back as they bring a wealth of experience that will be needed against a strong side like the Lions," Duncan said.

"It is going to be a tough game and we still have an outside chance for a spot in the semis. We will be throwing everything at them."

Mohoje will be returning to his blindside flank position, putting Lappies Labuschagne in the number 8 jersey, with Neil Claassen being moved to the bench.

Nyakane will earn astarting berth, at the expense of George Marich who moves to the bench.

Lock Henco Venter, moves aside as Jager will be put on the run-on side. Caylib Oosthuizen will be playing in the loosehead prop position in place of Coenie Oosthuizen.

Duncan has had to make changes to the backline after two key players were injured during last week’s game against the Western Province Stormers.

JP du Plessis has been positioned at centre in place of injured vice-captain, Francois Venter, while AJ Coertzen has been moved to wing.

"It is difficult with all the injuries disrupting us, but we are confident that the replacements will be up for the task," Duncan said.

"It is going to be a massive game. It is crucial for us to get the win. It isn't negotiable."

Free State Cheetahs:

15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 AJ Coertzen, 13 JP du Plessis, 12 Joubert Engelbrecht, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Willie du Plessis, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Lappies Labuschagne, 7 Teboho Mohoje, 6 Tienie Burger, 5 Francois Uys, 4 Lood de Jager, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Torsten van Jaarseveld (captain), 1 Caylib Oosthuizen


16 Hercu Liebenberg, 17 George Marich, 18 Henco Venter, 19 Neil Claassen, 20 Shaun Venter, 21 Pieter-Steyn de Wet, 22 Maphutha Dolo


Photo courtesy of www.beeld.com