Ricochet News

Eastern Cape ANCWL elects new leadership

May 25, 2015
Eastern Cape ANCWL elects new leadership

Bukiwe Fanta is the new Chairperson of Eastern Cape African National Congress' (ANC) Women's League following an elective conference that was held at the Methodist Church in Wilsonia, East London. Fanta beat Eastern Cape Social Development MEC, Nancy Sihlwayi, by close to 100 votes.

The elective conference was attended by over 1 000 delegates from all eight regions of the ANC in the Eastern Cape.

Still the conference was without incident as some delegates reportedly called for the conference to be dissolved claiming that delegates, who were not accredited, voted but the issue was later resolved amicably.

The election of a new committee marks an end to the provincial task team that was sent by the national office to address instability within the organisation. The women's league in the Eastern Cape currently has over 400 branches - the biggest in terms of membership in the country. Only fours years ago, it had 27 branches.

Fanta told the SABC that they will strive to make the ANCWL vibrant and address women issues.

“It's been long without an executive committee. We are hoping to take forward gender issues and women issues in the forefront of our struggle. Most of our problems [is that] the patriarchy is still a major challenge and the task I'm taking up today is dealing seriously with the issue of patriarchy in our province and in our country,” she added.

ANCWL National Secretary General, Sisisi Tolashe, said issues of discipline still need to be looked at in the ANCWL.

“We think it is important for the women's league as well to be coherent when it comes to issues of discipline. I think it’s been almost 10 years that we haven't taken anyone to a disciplinary [hearing] because of the nature of the women's league. As times goes on with comrades coming in, some [do] not necessarily understanding the ANC, [they] deliberately undermine how the ANC operates and the culture of the ANC,” she explained.

The top five in the new Eastern Cape ANCWL includes Fanta as the chairperson, Bulelwa Mabengu as the deputy chairperson, Nolitha Ntobongwana as the secretary, Kanyisa Mdleleni as the deputy secretary and Nonkqubela Pieters as the treasurer.