Ricochet News

EP Cricket moving forward

Oct 27, 2015
EP Cricket moving forward

At a recent Board of Directors meeting of EP Cricket held on Saturday the 24th of October various resolutions were taken which would see EP Cricket take positive steps into the future. 

Firstly, an independent selection panel under the chairmanship of Judge Ronnie Pillay and including former Presidents Yusuf Lorgat and Colin Rushmere were tasked with reviewing nominations of independent persons to serve on the Board of EPC.

Based on specific criteria to strengthen governance, legal, finance and business expertise, their recommendations were unanimously endorsed by the EPC Board.

The following three new independent Directors Manoj Karsan, Donovan Nadison and Winston Simpson will join Mark Williams and Zak Limbada on the Board as Independent Directors.

Mr Williams, who is the Lead Independent Director, has more than 25 years' experience working in the financial and banking industry in South Africa and across Africa.

He is also the former Retail Director of Barclays Bank Africa and Non-Executive Director of the Banking Association of South Africa and is currently a Board Member of the NEPAD Business Foundation. Mr Limbada was previously Managing Director of PPC Zimbabwe, and both are CSA representatives elected onto the EPC Board.

Mr Karsan is a lawyer by profession and will chair the Legal and Governance sub-committee, Mr Nadison has extensive consulting experience in the public sector, with skills in governance, risk and audit.

He was the former Chairman of the Gautrain Audit and Risk Committee, and will head up the EP Audit and Risk subcommittee, while Mr Simpson is a former President and Treasurer of Rotary and is currently the independent Principal Officer for the GMSA Provident Fund. Mr Simpson will serve in the Finance and Audit and Risk sub committees.

The Board will now be made up of these 5 Independent Directors and 7 Non Independent Directors (Ms D Marais, Messrs D May, M Breakfast, R Dolley, E Hufkie, H Marais and J Mbenge).  The non-independent directors were elected by the clubs at the EPC AGM in August.

“It gives me a great pleasure to welcome the three new Independent Directors onto our Board.  Together with the rest of the Board we are looking forward to steering EP cricket into a new direction for the next three years.   We are now fully compliant with the new Companies Act and adhere to all CSA requirements.  With our new MOI in operation we can only look forward to a bright future for cricket in this region” said EP President Donovan May.

President of EP Cricket, Donovan May and Lead Independent Director Mark Williams will serve on the Cricket Eastern Cape (Pty) Ltd (Warriors) Board as Shareholder Directors. 

The EP selection panel comprising Piet Botha, Malibongwe Maketa and Wandile Gwavu was ratified.