Ricochet News

EP Kings make changes ahead of Saturday game against Bulls

EP Kings make changes ahead of Saturday game against Bulls

Eastern Province (EP) Kings Coach, Carlos Spencer, has made four changes to his team ahead of their Currie Cup game against the Blue Bulls in Pretoria this Saturday.

"We have brought back players like Steven Sykes and Darron Nell to add some physicality up front - which is something we lacked against the Lions and really need against this Bulls outfit," said Spencer.

"We have also included Paul Schoeman among the loose forwards to give us greater energy at the breakdown and to put pressure on in that area. Also, he's a very good ball carrier."

Skipper, Luke Watson, who was out of the game against the Golden Lions last weekend due to flu, will be returning for the Saturday game.

Scrumhalf Kevin Luiters will be replacing Tobie Botes in the Backline, as Botes is struggling with a wrist injury.

EP Kings flank, Stefan Willemse will move to the number six jersey, while Schoeman will be replacing Thembelani Bholi on the other side of the scrum.

“Darron and Steve have good experience and we have lacked that when we have fallen behind in matches.

“We are hoping they can help us to overcome any bad situations as we have a fairly young group of players and we want them to lead by example, with their encouragement and their actions.

“Luke is also vital to the team, providing more experience to the pack, and it's crucial for us, as a team, to have him for the full 80 minutes,” added Spencer.

He said that the EP Kings will be focusing on the intensity of their game, adding that this could do well against the Bulls this weekend.

“We have spoken all week about the need for urgency and commitment, which is something we lacked in abundance against the Lions,” Spencer said.

“It is important after two losses that you get confidence early so they’re just going to go out there and get stuck into them.”

EP Kings line-up for the game against the Blue Bulls this Saturday:

1. Lizo Gqoboka
2. Edgar Marutlulle
3. Tom Botha
4. Darron Nel
5. Steven Sykes
6. Stefan Willemse
7. Paul Schoeman
8. Luke Watson (Captain)
9. Kevin Luiters
10. Gary van Aswegen
11. Siviwe Soyizwapi
12. Shane Gates
13. Tim Whitehead
14. Ronnie Cooke
15. Scott van Breda

16. Mike van Vuuren
17. Charles Marais
18. Steven Cummins
19. Themelani Bholi
20. Jaco Grobler
21. George Whitehead
22. Siyanda Grey


Photo courtesy of www.rugby15.co.za