Ricochet News

EP Kings team announced to take on GWK Griquas

SEPTEMBER 30, 2014
EP Kings team announced to take on GWK Griquas

Eastern Province Kings head coach, Carlos Spencer, has announced a fairly unchanged team to take on the GKW Griquas in Kimberly on Saturday at 14.30.

Spencer said the team would be under new captainship once again, as neither Darron Nell nor Steven Sykes would be in the starting fifteen, but said he would only announce the new captain on Thursday.

“Darron Nell is currently battling with a calf strain and will undergo fitness tests on Thursday, if he passes he will move to the bench, otherwise Steven Sykes will come onto the bench in his place,” he said.

“I still need to speak to a few of the guys about the role and will make the announcement on Thursday,” he said.

The changes to the starting line up include Cameron Lindsay moving up from the bench to cover for Nell at lock opposite Steven Cummins, while Tim Agaba moves up from the bench to eighth man.

Paul Schoeman moves from eighth man to flank, to cover for Stefan Willemse, who is out with a shoulder injury.

“I think Tim is an outright eight, I was impressed with the energy that he brought when he came on last week Saturday,” he said.

The only change on the bench, besides Nell or Sykes, is the inclusion of George Whitehead, who returns.

Spencer said the team line outs continued to be frustrating, but said he did not want to go in depth on the matter.

“It was a big issue for us, we did put ourselves in positions where we got ourselves back into the game [against the Sharks] and if we had won even half of those line outs I believe we could have gone on to win the match.

Spencer said the team was looking forward to the clash against the Griquas.

“This is an important game for us and we’re excited. We feel if we just stick to the plan, and look after ourselves, I’m sure we will do fine,” he said.

Spencer said the biggest challenge for the team was the first fifteen to twenty minutes of the game, where the opposition managed to get a head start.

“Our focus is on those first ten to fifteen minutes, it is important that we get ourselves into the game and just stick to the plan,” he said.

 The Team

 15. Siviwe Soyizwapi

14. Ronnie Cooke

13. Tim Whitehead

12. Shane Gates

11. Ntabeni Dukisa

10. Gary van Aswegen

9. Tobie Botes

8. Tim Agaba

7. Devin Oosthuizen

6. Paul Schoeman

5. Steven Cummins

4. Cameron Lindsay

3. CJ van der Linde

2. Martin Ferreira

1. Charles Marais


16. Albé de Swardt

17. Charl du Plessis

18. Darron Nell / Steven Sykes

19. Thembelani Bholi

20. Kevin Luiters

21. George Whitehead

22. Scott van Breda