Ricochet News

EP Kings team ready for WP clash

May 13, 2016
EP Kings team ready for WP clash

EP Kings Currie Cup Head Coach, Robbi Kempson, has announced his team to take on DHL Western Province in Cape town on Saturday.

Kempson has made seven changes to his starting line up, including one positional change.

Sintu Manjezi will again captain the side, with Somila Jho as vice captain.

The front row remains unchanged, with Liam Hendricks, Martin Bezuidenhout and Louis Albertse retaining their spots.

Tazz Fuzani returns from injury and is joined by Philip du Preez at lock, filling in for Cornell Hess, who has been called up to the Southern Kings team.

At flank, Stephan Zaayman replaces JP Jonck, who has also been called up to the Southern Kings, with Manjezi returning to flank from lock, in place of SF Nieuwoudt.

Jacques Engelbrecht retains his spot at eighth man. 

At scrumhalf, Sibusiso Ngcokovane replaces Franswa Ueckermann , who sustained a concussion against the Vodacom Blue Bulls over the weekend, while Andile Jho fills in for Jeremy Ward, who will be captaining the SA U20 side. Somila Jho replaces JP du Plessis, who has also been called up to the Southern Kings team, at outside centre.

Kempson said the loss of available players from the Southern Kings team, as well as the loss of EP players who were out due to injuries was testing the depth of talent available.

"We are being tested at the moment, but it also brings new opportunities for our younger players to make a mark at a proffesional level by playing in the Currie Cup qualifiers, which is great exposure for them," he said. 

"It also shows the quality of talent that is coming through the SARU Kings Academy, and showcases the depth of talent from the region," he said.

Kempson said the game against WP was not going to be an easy game.

"They are a really strong team and It was surprising they lost to the Sharks and unfortunately we can expect to get the backlash from that," he said.


15. Lindelwe Zungu

14. Athenkosi Mayinje

13. Somila Jho (VC)

12. Andile Jho

11. Siphumelelele Msutwana

10. Garrick Mattheus

09. Sibusiso Ngcokovane

08. Jacques Engelbrecht

07. Sintu Manjezi (C)

06. Stephan Zaayman

05. Philip du Preez

04. Tazz Fuzani

03. Louis Albertse

02. Martin Bezuidenhout

01. Liam Hendricks



16. JP Jamieson

17. David Murray

18. Gerrit Huisamen

19. Lusanda Badiyana

20. Chuma Faas

21. Jordan Koekemoer

22. Yaw Penxe