Ricochet News

EP Kings to take on the Western Province in Vodacom Cup match

APRIL 8, 2015
EP Kings to take on the Western Province in Vodacom Cup match

Eastern Province Kings coach, Mzwandile Stick, has named his team who will be taking on the Western Province in their Vodacom Cup match at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Saturday.

The Kings have played two matches so far this season, losing against Griquas in their opening match and then beating the Border Bulldogs in East London on the 27th of March.

Stick has said that this weekend’s match is crucial for his team, and that there is still room for improvement.

“This is a big one for us because Western Province are a good team and the first two matches have not gone that smoothly for us,” he said.

“But the guys are starting to realise that we have to play as a team, that we need to stick to our structures and plans. If we can implement that, I know the game will become much easier for us.”

Stick has made several changes to the team for the match.

Props Lizo Gqoboka and Tom Botha have both been chosen for the starting line-up, in place of injured Simon Kerrod, and Charles Marais, who has been moved to the bench.

Jaco Grobler will be starting at scrumhalf in place of Kevin Luiters, who has been placed on the bench.

George Whitehead has been named as flyhalf in place of injured Gary van Aswegen, with Sylvian Mahuza returning to fullback after missing the match against Border due to personal reasons.

"This is a good test for us and we are looking forward to that. We know it won't be easy but a win on Saturday would kick-start our confidence," Kings Captain, Shane Gates said.

"The guys are ready for the game and against WP they will all be self-motivated to do well,” he added.

EP Kings:

Lizo Gqoboka, Martin Ferreira, Tom Botha, Tazz Fuzani, Cameron Lindsay, Paul Schoeman, Thembelani Bholi, Tim Agaba (vice-captain), Jaco Grobler, George Whitehead, Siyanda Grey, Shane Gates (captain), Hansie Graaff, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Sylvian Mahuza

Edgar Marutlulle, Charles Marais, David Bulbring, Stefan Willemse, Kevin Luiters, Tim Whitehead, Scott van Breda


IMAGE supplied by www.grassrootsrugby.co.za