Ricochet News

Four changes made to Bafana

Four changes made to Bafana

Bafana Bafana head coach, Shakes Mashaba, has made four changes to his team for the African Cup of Nations (AFCON) final Group C match against Ghana in Equatorial Guinea later today.

Mashaba has placed Brilliant Khuzwayo as goal keeper in place of Jackson Mabokgwane, who made his debut for the South African team in the game against Senegal last Friday.

This has been Mashaba’s third goalie change since the start of the AFCON tournament, as Darren Keet played as goalkeeper during Bafana’s first match against Algeria.

Defender, Rivaldo Coetzee, has been positioned at central defence in place of Thulani Hlatshwayo, who is currently injured.

Coetzee will be teamed alongside defender, Erick Mathoho, with Anele Ngcongca at right-back and Thabo Matlaba at left-back. Mandla Masango will be taking the place of Oupa Manyisa in the midfield.

Dean Furman, Andile Jali and Thuso Phala will all keep their positions from the previous match, with Furman leading the team as captain once again.

Tokelo Rantie and Bongani Ndulula will both be making their first start in the tournament, and will be partnered up as the team’s strike force.

South Africa XI:

 1-Brilliant Khuzwayo (GK), 6-Anele Ngcongca, 11-Thabo Matlaba, 2-Rivaldo Coetzee, 3-Eric Mathoho, 15-Dean Furman (C), 5-Andile Jali, 7-Mandla Masango, 18-Thuso Phala, 23-Tokelo Rantie, 9-Bongani Ndulula


16-Darren Keet (GK), 22-Jackson Mabokgwane (GK), 21-Ayanda Gcaba, 13-Thamsanqa Sangweni, 19-Themba Zwane, 12-Reneilwe Letsholonyane, 20-Oupa Manyisa, 8-Bongani Zungu, 17-Bernard Parker, 4-Siyabonga Nhlapho, 10-Sibusiso Vilakazi.


14-Thulani Hlatshwayo


IMAGE supplied by www.citypress.co.za