Ricochet News

Gold confirms Sharks defensive issues

MAY 28, 2015
Gold confirms Sharks defensive issues

The Cell C Sharks have had a rocky Super Rugby season, due to their poor defence on the field, with Sharks Director of Rugby, Gary Gold confirming that his team’s defensive issues were a problem before they set off on their Australasian tour. 

"No one has denied that our defence leading up to the tour had been woeful. There were definitely situations that were well below our standards, that all capitulated in the Crusaders game (Sharks lost 52-10 at home)," Gold told The Witness newspaper.

"When we had the opportunity to tour we sat down and put focus on areas we believed were important, none more so than the defence.

"That was a combined decision. It was not one person's fault or reason why the defence wasn't working. There are numerous reasons why it doesn't function.

"We're still very disappointed in the Highlanders' performance, a couple of soft tries in the game and we felt that everything capitulated from there."

Although they had lost three of their four Super Rugby matches on tour, the Sharks came back to beat the Queensland Reds 21-14 on the 22nd of May.

"It was important for numerous reasons; we worked hard for the full four weeks on tour and how desperately they deserved some reward. It wasn't the best performance but was pretty effective," Gold said of that win.

"There are still areas to work on that we feel were sub-standard, but at this stage of the year it was a very important victory and I'm proud of how the guys stuck to their task.

"From our point of view, we have two home games and we know for the continuity of the Union how critically important it is that we continue on winning ways,” he added.

The Sharks will next be facing the Melbourne Rebels at the Kings Park Stadium in Durban on Friday evening.


15. Lwazi Mvovo, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. JP Pietersen, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. S’bura Sithole, 10. Lionel Cronje, 9. Stefan Ungerer, 8. Ryan Kankowski, 7. Willem Alberts / Etienne Oosthuizen, 6. Renaldo Bothma, 5. Marco Wentzel (captain), 4. Mouritz Botha, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis, 1. Tendai Mtawarira


16. Franco Marais, 17. Matt Stevens, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20. Etienne Oosthuizen / Khaya Majola, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Fred Zeilinga, 23. Heimar Williams


IMAGE supplied by www.sport24.co.za