Ricochet News

Gold names his Australasian touring squad

By Natali Iverson - Apr 24, 2015
Gold names his Australasian touring squad

Cell C Sharks Director of Rugby, Gary Gold, has named his 27-man team who will be travelling to Australasia for their four-game Super Rugby tour next weekend.

Skipper Bismarck du Plessis and utility back Frans Steyn, who are both currently on suspension, have been included in the squad, as their suspensions will come to an end while they are on tour.

Du Plessis will be available for the match against the Highlanders in Dunedin on the 1st of May, with Steyn only becoming available for the second match against the Hurricanes in Wellington on the 9th of May.

Stephan Lewies and JP Pietersen have also been included after spending varied periods of time on the side-lines due to injury.

After their first two matches, the Sharks will travel to Australia to take on the Waratahs on the 16th of May and then the Reds on the 22nd of May.

“Tours are funny things, I’ve seen teams in far worse positions than us fight to get back and I’m not giving up the fight in any way, shape or form,” Gold said on the Sharks’ official website.

“I’m keen to work with these guys in adverse times - that’s when you see true warriors come out. That’s our challenge: we are down but we’re not out and now is the time to stand up and fight back. If we come back fighting in the last six games, we’ll salvage a lot of respect,” he added.

Several players have not been included in the line-up due to injury, these include Pat Lambie, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Ryan Kankowski, SP Marais, Tera Mtembu and Paul Jordaan.

Jean Deysel will also be unavailable for the tour, as his seven week suspension only allows him back on the field for the match against the Melbourne Rebels on the 29th of May.

Sharks touring squad:

Lourens Adriaanse, Willem Alberts, Mouritz Botha, Renaldo Bothma, Dale Chadwick, Marcell Coetzee, Lionel Cronje, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Andre Esterhuizen, Conrad Hoffmann, Stephan Lewies, Franco Marais, Tendai ‘Beast’ Mtawarira, Lubabalo ‘Giant’ Mtyanda, Waylon Murray, Lwazi Mvovo, Odwa Ndungane, Etienne Oosthuizen, JP Pietersen, Cobus Reinach, S’bura Sithole, Matt Stevens, Francois Steyn, Stefan Ungerer, Marco Wentzel and Fred Zeilinga


IMAGE supplied by www.iol.co.za