Ricochet News

Kings squad announced for SWD friendly

FEBRUARY 4, 2016
Kings squad announced for SWD friendly

The Southern Kings have selected a strong squad to take on the SWD Eagles at Outeniqua Park in George tomorrow, with Steven Sykes being selected to captain the side.

Southern Kings Head Coach, Deon Davids, said he had selected Sykes based on his experience and because he had shown leadership in the group.  

“We gave Edgar (Marutlulle) and Schalk (Ferreira) leadership opportunities during the session against NMMU Madibaz last week, and want to see how Sykes will manage the role,” he said.

“It is important that you have a few leaders available to you in the group,” he said.

Davids said he was looking forward to the hit out against the SWD Eagles, who had put in a stellar performance against the DHL Stormers last week, having lead the game up until the 50th minute.

The SWD Eagles are known for their strong structures and match fitness.

Davids said his aim for the pre-season preparations was to ensure that each player received enough game-time before they face the Cell C Sharks in their Vodacom Super Rugby opener at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on the 27th of February.

“This week we will be focusing more on specific combinations of players, as well as improving on areas identified during last week’s hit out against the Madibaz,” he said.

“This will be an important game for us, especially from a match fitness perspective, as it will be our first full length match,” he said.

The Southern Kings squad is:

1              Schalk Ferreira

2              Edgar Marutlulle

3              Jacobie Adriaanse

4              Schalk Oelofse

5              Steven Sykes ©

6              Chris Cloete

7              Thembelani Bholi

8              Jacques Engelbrecht


9              Ntando Kebe

10           Elgar Watts

11           Michael Makashe

12           Stefan Watermeyer

13           JP du Plessis

14           Luzuko Vulundlu

15           Jurgen Visser


16           Vukile Sofisa

17           Martin Bezuidenhout

18           Tom Botha

19           Tazz Fuzanie

20           JC Astle

21           Cornell Hess

22           CJ Velleman

23           Stephan Willemse

24           Junior Pokemela

25           Leighton Eksteen

26           James Hall

27           Theuns Kotze

28           Shane Gates

29           Siyanda Grey

30           JP Jonck