Ricochet News

Ludeke names team to face Reds

By Natali Iverson - Apr 9, 2015
Ludeke names team to face Reds

Vodacom Blue Bulls coach, Frans Ludeke, has named his team who will be taking on the Queenslands Reds in their Super Rugby clash at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday evening.

Ludeke has made two changes to the starting line-up who lost 22-18 to the Emirates Golden Lions in Johannesburg last weekend.

Springbok flank, Arno Botha, has been selected for the match, after being on the side-lines with a hamstring injury; he will be replacing Hanro Liebenberg, who has been moved to the bench.

Callie Visagie will be replacing Springbok, Adriaan Strauss at hooker. Strauss will be receiving a break this week in terms of the South African Rugby Union’s (SARU) request to rest Springbok players before the World Cup.

Flip van der Merwe, who has returned from injury, will be replacing Nicolaas Janse van Rensburg on the bench.

"It is great to have Flip back," said Ludeke.

"He does not only provide a physical presence and some real grunt up front, he is also an important leader in the squad and with Victor (Matfield) out for a couple of weeks, Flip's return could not come at a better time. “

Ludeke has also given Springbok players, Handre Pollard and Jan Serfontein another week off, also in terms of the SARU request.

"We have some big games and a tour coming up and I would like both of them to be 100% fit for that. Both Jacques-Louis (Potgieter) and Burger (Odendaal) played well when called upon and I am happy to give them another opportunity. You need your whole squad to contribute to be successful in this competition," Ludeke added.


15. Jesse Kriel, 14. Francois Hougaard, 13. JJ Engelbrecht, 12. Burger Odendaal, 11. Bjorn Basson, 10. Jacques-Louis Potgieter, 9. Rudy Paige, 8. Pierre Spies (captain), 7. Arno Botha, 6. Deon Stegmann, 5. Grant Hattingh, 4. Jacques du Plessis, 3. Trevor Nyakane, 2. Callie Visagie, 1. Dean Greyling

16. Jaco Visagie, 17. Morné Mellett, 18. Marcel van der Merwe, 19. Flip van der Merwe, 20. Hanro Liebenberg, 21. Piet van Zyl, 22. Tian Schoeman, 23. Jurgen Visser


IMAGE supplied by www.vebidoo.com