Ricochet News

Meyer makes four changes to the Boks

Meyer makes four changes to the Boks

Springbok coach, Heyneke Meyer, has made four changes to his team for the End of Year Tour match against Italy, which will take place at the Stadio Euganeo Stadium in Padova on Saturday.

Trevor Nyakane will be placed at loosehead prop, while Coenie Oosthuizen will take the tighthead position in place of injured Jannie du Plessis.

Teboho ‘Oupa’ Mohoje will be returning to the starting line-up with Johan Goosen playing at fullback.

Nizaam Carr and Julian Redelinghuys have both been put on the bench, along with Gurthrö Steenkamp, Lood de Jager and Willie le Roux.

“I’m excited to see what these guys can do on Saturday in what will be a stern Test against a fired-up Italy,” Meyer said.

“We planned to make a few shifts for this Test as I’d like to see if these players can make the step up. The guys coming in deserve their opportunities and seeing that we won’t have our overseas-based players available next week against Wales, it made sense to bring a few of them in this week.”

Meyer added that the match against Italy will be a completely different game compared to the Boks’ previous games on the tour.

“They are a passionate nation with a very experienced coach in Jacques Brunel and a world-class captain in Sergio Parisse,” Meyer said.

“The Italian pack is always formidable and their backs are not scared of taking chances. Our focus is to show improvements from our performance at Twickenham and we know it will be a big challenge on Saturday.”

Teams for the End of Year Tour match:


To Be Announced.

South Africa:

15 Johan Goosen, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Teboho “Oupa” Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Trevor Nyakane


16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Handré Pollard, 23 Willie le Roux


Photo courtesy of www.ruggaworld.com