Ricochet News

Nelson Mandela Bay By-Election Results

Nelson Mandela Bay By-Election Results

In a morale boost for the African National Congress (ANC) in the Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality (NMBM), its candidate, as well as an independent contestant, won the two by-elections that were held in the municipality on Wednesday. The win somewhat dents the Democratic Alliance’s (DA) bid to take ‘one ward at a time’ from the ANC ahead of the 2016 local government elections.

According to results published by the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) on Thursday morning, the ANC’s Lindelwa Priscilla Qukubana won the Nelson Mandela Bay’s Ward 46 by 65.86% of the 3 698 votes that were cast. She was up against Khuselwa Cynthia Ngxoweni from Congress of the People (COPE); Alvezo Fortuin of the DA; and the United Democratic Movement’s (UDM) Nomazizi Joyce Jama.

However, many voters could not or did not vote in the by-election as there are 10 459 registered voters in the Ward according to the IEC.

In the other NMBM by-election, independent candidate Andile Phillip Gqabi is now the councillor-elect for the municipality’s Ward 42. He won the election by 51.53% of the 3 756 votes that were cast. He was contesting with Mazwanzima Mini of the ANC, Mzwandile Stanley Hote of the COPE; Nomakazi Cobo of the DA; and Odwa Galada of the UDM.

According to the IEC, there are 8 077 registered voters in that ward.

Gqabi, a former ANC Councillor, was given the boot by the ruling party in September after a national ANC Task Team, led by Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma, found that the nomination process that led to his election as Ward Councillor candidate for the May 2011 local government elections was flawed – paving the way for a by-election.

Other Eastern Cape by-elections

In the other by-elections that took place on the same day, the ANC won all the wards.

Its candidate, Siphiwo Davidson Kalityi, beat the UDM’s Xolani Wiseman Dyantyi to represent Ward 4 of the Mbhashe Local Municipality. Kalityi won the by-election by a resounding 90.01% of the 1702 that were cast. There are 4 029 registered voters in that ward.

In the by-election for Ward 19 of the Nkonkobe Local Municipality, the ANC’s Liziwe Faith Matyolo won the election uncontested.

Except for the NMBM by-election for Ward 42, the other by-elections were as a result of the death of the councillors.