Ricochet News

New Bafana captain delighted with win

By Natali Iverson - Nov 17, 2014
New Bafana captain delighted with win

New Bafana Bafana captain, Dean Furman, has said that he is proud to be leading his team to the 2015 African Cup of Nations (AFCON), after beating Sudan 2-1 at theMoses Mabhida Stadium in Durban on Saturday.

Goals from midfielder, Thulani Serero, as well as forward, Tokelo Rantie, guaranteed the South African team the first position on the log with 11 points.

Furman, who was named captain on Friday evening, said that he was going to have a “tough task” replacing former captain, Senzo Meyiwa.

Orlando Pirates and Bafana goalkeeper, Meyiwa, was shot and killed in a robbery whilst visiting his girlfriend, Kelly Khumalo, in Vosloorus on the East Rand on the 26th of October.

A moment of silence was held by the 30 000 fans who attended the game, with Furman dedicating the match to Meyiwa.

"It was an incredibly emotional week, but the spirit in the camp has been high," Furman said.

"I was lucky enough to be selected as the captain by the coach, but I can tell you now there are many leaders out on that pitch.

"For me it was probably the biggest honour and one of the proudest moments in not just my career, but my life, to lead my country."

Furman added that he was delighted to lead his country to its first major tournament since 2008.

"We are delighted with the victory, we knew what we had to do and we are going to the finals after such a long time failing to qualify," he added.

"This win will help us forget what happened at this very stadium when our hearts were broken after we defeated Botswana for Brazil 2014 but we still didn’t qualify because we were playing catch up back then.

"Today the difference is that it was in our own hands, and it was vital that we get it done. The next match is against Nigeria and we want to maintain our undefeated record by getting a win.” 


Photo Caption: Bafana Bafana captain, Dean Furman, is deligthed to be leading South Africa to the 2015 AFCON. Photo courtesy of www.africanfootball.com