Ricochet News

New online system for National Minimum Wage exemption applications soon

Mar 19, 2018
New online system for National Minimum Wage exemption applications soon

The Department of Labour is currently finalising an online system for employers or employers’ organisations registered in terms of section 96 of the Labour Relations Act, acting on behalf of its members to apply for an exemption from paying the National Minimum Wage (NMW) which is set for implementation on the 1st of May 2018.

Taking the employers through the steps of the system, Mathilda Bergmann from the Department of Labour, Employment Standards says, the new system will require the employers’ financial information, household income, commercial balance sheet, working hours and motivation which after thorough audit of the company will determine the granting or rejection of an exemption.

Bergmann says the Department has drafted Regulations to this effect and the bill is currently in Parliament and has been published for the public to make representation by 16 March 2018.

The Department today commenced the national series of roadshows with employers in Braamfontein, Orion Hotel Johannesburg.

Under the new law, employers will have to pay their staff a minimum wage of R20 an hour with the exception of sectors such as the farm/forestry, domestic and expanded public works programme workers, that have been given a longer transition period to pay R18, R15 and R11 per hour respectively.

The Department will be hosting another roadshow tomorrow (20 March 2018) in Pretoria, at Southern Sun Pretoria corner Pretorius and Steve Biko Streets in Arcadia.                                                                                            

The next briefing sessions are lined up as follows: Cape Town (22 March), George (23 March), Durban (27 March), Richards bay (28 March), Lichtenburg (03 April), Springbok (05 April), Upington (06 April), East London (09 April), Port Elizabeth (10 April), Nelspruit (12 April), Piet Retief (13 April), Tzaneen (16 April), Polokwane (17 April),  Bloemfontein (19 April) and culminating in Bethlehem on (20 April).

The briefing sessions will be held from 10:00 -13:00.