Ricochet News

One EP representative makes cut as Proteas’ hockey squads announced

By Marc Jacobson - Jan 3, 2017
One EP representative makes cut as Proteas’ hockey squads announced

The South Africa Hockey Association (SAHA) have announced the players to be representing the South African men’s and women’s sides taking part in the Cape Town Summer Series to be held in January 2017.

In the women’s division, the participating countries are with current FIH rankings in brackets: China (8th), Belgium (14th) and hosts, South Africa (13th), while in the men’s division, the Proteas (15th) are adjoined by Netherlands (3rd) and Belgium (5th).

The squads of 30 each are dominated by representation from Gauteng (Johannesburg/Pretoria), Western Province (Cape Town) and Kwazulu-Natal (Durban) with only one Eastern Province representative in Ignatius Malgraff in the men’s set-up.

SA women’s squad:

Sanani Mangisa (Southern Gauteng)

Marelise van Tonder (Northern Gauteng)

Mmatshepo Modipane (Northern Gauteng)

Phumelela Mbande (Northern Gauteng)

Lisa Deetlefs (Southern Gauteng)

Kara Stella (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Nicolene Terblanch (Northern Gauteng)

Jessica O’Connor (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Kirsty Adams (Boland)

Erin Hunter (Western Province)

Nicole Walraven (Free State)

Christine Roos (Northern Gauteng)

Quanita  Bobbs (Western Province)

Celia Evans (Northern Gauteng)

Ilse Davids (Western Province)

Shelley Russel (Southern Gauteng)

Jade Mayne (Western Province)

Marizen Marais (Southern Gauteng)

Stefanie Baxter (Southern Gauteng)

Kelly Madsen (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Izelle Verster (Northern Gauteng)

Sulette Damons (North West)

Candice Manual (Western Province)

Dirkie Chamberlain (Northern Gauteng)

Bernadette Coston (Southern Gauteng)

Lilian du Plessis (Southern Gauteng)

Kate Koening (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Tarryn Glasby (Western Province)

Toni Marks (Southern Gauteng)

Tanya Britz (Free State).

SA men’s squad:

Rassie Pieterse (Southern Gauteng)

Gowan Jones (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Siya Nolutshungu (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Daniel Bell (Western Province)

Robin Jones (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Gareth Heyns (Southern Gauteng)

Jethro Eustice (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Dylan Swanepoel (Western Province)

Mohamed Mea (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Tyson Dlungwana (Southern Gauteng)

Rhett Halkett (Western Province)

Alex Stewart (Western Province)

Timothy Drummond (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Ryan Julius (Western Province)

Reza Rosenberg (Southern Gauteng)

Clinton Panther (Southern Gauteng)

Taine Paton (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Jonty Robinson (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Owen Mvimbi (Southern Gauteng)

Keenan Horne (Western Province)

Ignatius Malgraff (Eastern Province)

Tevon Kok (Northern Gauteng)

Nqobile Ntuli (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Brandon Panther (Southern Gauteng)

Ryan Crowe (Southern Gauteng)

Damian Kimfley (Kwazulu-Natal Country)

Richard Pautz (Northern Gauteng)

Ross Hetem (Kwazulu-Natal Country).   

Image: SA Women's hockey team in action