Ricochet News

Prof Maguvhe, who previously said he will not leave, resigns from SABC board

Dec 19, 2016
Prof Maguvhe, who previously said he will not leave, resigns from SABC board

The Presidency on Monday said that President Jacob Zuma received and accepted the resignation of the Chairperson of the Board of the South African Broadcasting Corporation (SABC), Professor Mbulaheni Obert Maguvhe.

"The President has thanked Professor Maguvhe for his services during his tenure at the SABC and wished him all the best for his future endeavours,” said the Presidency. 

Prof Maguvhe took over the chairmanship after the resignation of controversial SABC board chairperson, Ellen Tshabalala, in 2014. 

Tshabalala had been accused of faking her qualifications.

However, things did not improve at the SABC as under Prof Maguvhe and other board members. The public broadcaster made blunders that included the controversial firing of eight journalists, who questioned editorial policy changes made by disgraced former Chief Opertaing Officer, Hlaudi Motsoeneng.

Maguvhe previously praised Motsoeneng for his controversial decisions at the helm of the SABC.

In October, SABC board members, Krish Naidoo and Vusi Mavuso, announced their resignations at a meeting with Parliament’s communications committee. The committee was set up to look into the SABC board's fitness to do its job.

It had until January to decide on the board’s future.

Three board members had already resigned after Motsoeneng was reinstated in a senior management role in September.

In November, two more SABC board members, Vuyo Mhlakaza and Dr Aaron Tshidzumba, resigned - leaving Prof Maguvhe as the only board member.

He stated that he would not resign, despite the inquiry, the SABC previously reported.