Ricochet News

Rabada earns record amount of awards at CSA Awards Ceremony

Rabada earns record amount of awards at CSA Awards Ceremony

Recent Proteas debutant and pace bowler, Kagiso Rabada, claimed a record six awards at the Cricket South Africa (CSA) Awards Ceremony held in Johannesburg on Tuesday night.

Rabada made his T20 debut in 2014 and his test debut in just November last year and has overshadowed the likes of AB de Villiers and Hashim Amla, who had each picked up a maximum of five awards at previous CSA ceremonial occasions.

The 21-year-old has taken 24 wickets in six test matches with an average of 24.7, while taking 37 wickets in 20 ODI’s with an economy rate of 4.75. Due to his initial burst of prowess into the international cricket scene, Rabada claimed the most prestigious award – SA Cricketer of the Year.

Amongst his flock of awards, Rabada was also awarded the RAM Delivery of the Year Award with a delivery to Jason Roy, from England, in the T20 international held at Wanderers, Johannesburg.

Haroon Lorgat, CSA CEO, at the ceremony gave praise to Rabada for his psychological contribution and match-performance consistency delivered for cricket in South Africa as a whole.

“With so many injuries to our main fast bowlers this year, he has had to step up, and how brilliantly he has done that. Added to his record-breaking performances and statistics, is his humility and level-headedness that you would normally associate with a senior player,’ Lorgat announced at the ceremony.

All awards Rabada claimed:

SA Cricketer of the Year

Players’ Player of the Year

Fan’s Player of the Year

Test Player of the Year

ODI Cricketer of the Year

RAM Delivery of the Year

Other additional award winners:

T20 Player of the Year- Imran Tahir

Newcomer of the Year- Stephen Cook

KFC So Good Award- Temba Bavuma

Women’s Cricketer of the Year- Dane van Niekerk

Sunfoil Series Cricketer of the Year- Heino Kuhn (Titans)

Domestic Players’ Player of the Year- Heino Kuhn (Titans)

Momentum One-Day Cup Player of the Year- Alviro Petersen (Highveld Lions)

Ram Slam Player of the Year- Albie Morkel (Titans)

Domestic Newcomer of the Year- Nicky van den Bergh

SACA Most Valuable Player of the Year- Dwaine Pretorius

Africa T20 Cup Player of the Year- Lungi Ngidi (Northern)

Coach of the Year- Rob Walter (Titans)