Ricochet News

Rademan elected as new EPRU President to succeed Watson

By Marc Jacobson - Apr 10, 2017
Rademan elected as new EPRU President to succeed Watson

Crusaders Rugby Club Official, Andre Rademan, was on Saturday elected as the new Eastern Province Rugby Union President.

EPRU Club members gathered for a special general meeting held at Cape Recife in Port Elizabeth for an extensive voting process. The election comes after long-serving and fraudulent former EPRU President, Cheeky Watson, finally stepped down in much anticipation after being in office for eight years.  

In addition, Watson was also recently arrested after an investigation by the Hawks took place for money laundering and corruption charges into the Nelson Mandela Bay Public Transport System.

It was then confirmed following Watson’s departure from the union, that EPRU would return to local hands, thus the EPRU club voting process ensued, where Rademan was elected in as President.

Other nominees for President were: former Southern Spears CEO, Tony McKeever, Stag Mitchell and George Malgas, while Bantwini Matika was elected as Deputy President and Chico February the Vice-President.

Additional members and executives were elected as follows: Makhaya Jack, Adv Willie Blundin, Adv Shaeed Patel and Cannon Maasdorp.

Image: Newly elected EPRU President, Andre Rademan.