Ricochet News

SA Sports Awards nominee’s announced

By Natali Iverson - Oct 16, 2014
SA Sports Awards nominee’s announced

Springbok number 8, Duane Vermeulen and the Springbok Sevens team, have been nominated for theSouth African Sports Awards, the Department of Sport and Recreation of South African (SRSA) revealed on Wednesday.

Vermeulen has been placed in the category of Sports Star of the Year along with Boston Marathon winner, Ernst van Dyk (Wheelchair Marathon Athlete), Chad le Clos (Swimming), Banyana Banyana striker, Portia Modise (Soccer), athlete Khotso Mokoena (Track and Field) and Proteas ODI captain, AB de Villiers (Cricket).

The Blitzbokke have received a nomination in the category for Team of the Year, along with their coach, Neil Powell.

Powell has also been nominated in the Coach of the Year award along with Bafana Bafana coach Shakes Mashaba and South African swimming coach, Graham Hill.

Contestants for the Sports awards are chosen through the National Sports Federations, the sports media and the SA Sports Awards Voting Panel.

The Awards were created to “recognise and honour” people and teams, who have excelled in the sports world between 1st of October 2013 and the 31st of August 2014, and is due to take place at the Sandton Convention Centre in Johannesburg on the 30th of November.


Photo caption: Duane Vermeulen has been nominated in the category of Sports Star of the Year in the South African Sports Awards. Photo courtesy of www.sarugbymag.co.za