Ricochet News

Sarah Baartman District Municipality tourism businesses win at 2014 Provincial Lilizela Awards

Sarah Baartman District Municipality tourism businesses win at 2014 Provincial Lilizela Awards

It is a well-known fact that the Sarah Baartman District Municipality has some of the best tourism hotspots in the Eastern Cape; but that it also has among the best lodges, hotels and other tourismrelated offerings was confirmed at a glittering 2014 Provincial Lilizela Awards ceremony, which took place on Tuesday the 9th of September 2014, at the Feather Market Centre in Port Elizabeth.

Organised by the Eastern Cape Parks and Tourism Agency (ECPTA), the Lilizela Tourism Awards were launched by former Tourism Minister, Marthinus van Schalkwyk, last year with the aim of identifying and rewarding tourism businesses who work passionately and with pride to help enhance South Africa’s global destination competitiveness.

The ceremony was attended by Deputy Tourism Minister Tokozile Xasa; Eastern Cape MEC for Economic Development, Environmental Affairs and Tourism, Sakhumzi Somyo; Sarah Baartman District Municipality Executive Mayor, Khunjuzwa Eunice Kekana; Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality Executive Mayor, Ben Fihla, as well as other leaders in the tourism industry including product owners.

At the event Tsitsikamma Backpackers, Tsitsikamma Segway Tours, Stormsriver Adventures (all in the Kou-kamma Local Municipality); Hill Street Manor, A White House Guest House, Guineafowl Bed and Breakfast (in the Makana Local Municipality); Dune Ridge Country House, St Francis Golf Lodge, Apple @J-Bay, Cape St Francis Resort - Club Break, FunkyTown, Chokka Trail, Untouched Adventures (Kouga Local Municipality); Karoopark Guest House (Camdeboo Local Municipality); Duiwekloof Lodge (Baviaans Local Municipality); several Shamwari Private Game Reserve lodges (Sundays River Valley Local Municipality); Hopewell Lodge, Sibuya Game Reserve – River Camp, MyPond Hotel, Amakhala Game Reserve (Ndlambe Local municipality); Koffylaagte Game Lodge (Ikwezi Local Municipality) walked away with awards in different categories.

The categories included accommodation, visitor experiences and scenic beauty.

In her keynote address, Deputy Minister Xasa urged the province to strive for the number one position in the tourism market as they have the best tourist offering in the whole of South Africa.

Vuyani Dayimani, Chief Executive Officer of the Eastern Cape Parks and Tourism Agency, said; “The improved standard of entries received for the second Lilizela

Tourism Awards is an indication of the strides that have been made by the tourism industry.

 “They are an indication of the innovation, growth and motivation that is clearly prevalent in products in the Adventure Province. The provincial winners this year have set the bar very high and from here on we can only get better.”

This was echoed by Thembi Kunene, interim Chairperson of the Lilizela Tourism Awards.

“I look forward to more entrants in this prestigious awards programme next year and to engaging with all the Eastern Cape product owners again,” she added.



Photo Caption: CELEBRATING TOURISM EXCELLENCE… From left to right, Nelson Mandela Bay Municipality Executive Mayor, Ben Fihla; Sarah Baartman District Municipality Executive Mayor, Khunjuzwa Eunice Kekana; Deputy Tourism Minister, Tokozile Xasa; Eastern Cape MEC for Economic Development, Environmental Affairs and Tourism, Sakhumzi Somyo; Interim Chairperson of the Lilizela Tourism Awards, Thembi Kunene, and other dignitaries.