Ricochet News

Sharks make nine changes for game against Griquas

By Natali Iverson - Sep 4, 2014
Sharks make nine changes for game against Griquas

The Cell C Sharks have made nine changes for their ABSA Currie Cup clash against the GWK Griquas, at the Growthpoint Kings Park on Saturday.

Jaco van Tonder will come in as fullback as SP Marais was dropped out of the game completely. Paul Jordaan has moved to the number 13 jersey with Heimar Williams coming in beside him, while S’bura Sithole will be switched to left wing.

Etienne Oosthuizen has been cleared from his hamstring injury and has been placed as blindside flank. Wiehan Hay comes in at lock for injured forward JC Astle and Stephan Lewies has returned as the middle of the lineout jumper.

Two changes have been made for the front row, with Lourens Adriaanse at tighthead and Thomas du Toit as starting loosehead prop in place of Dale Chadwick.

The Sharks are looking at working harder this week after their disappointing loss against the Pumas last week.

Sharks website editor Michael Marnewick reported on the site that the team needs to improve on certain aspects of their game.

“We’re not happy with our performance against the Pumas,” prop Lourens Adriaanse admitted. “We’re looking to work hard this week to rectify that and to step up on Saturday with a good performance.” 

After last week’s game against the Pumas, the Sharks lost three players to injuries.

“For us as a team, there were some disruptions at lock, a few lost lineouts cost us in the end and we know we could have performed better at lineout time. So we’ve been working hard on our set-piece this week to make sure we deliver good ball to our backs.” 

“We’ve watched the video of the game in review and the coach showed us the defensive errors. It’s more a team thing we need to work on and small things that we’ve identified: focussing better on each of our jobs specifically.” 

The Sharks will be facing the Griquas at Growthpoint Kings Park Stadium in Durban on Saturday at 17:05.

The Sharks team for Saturday against the Griquas:

15.Jaco van Tonder, 14.Odwa Ndungane, 13.Paul Jordaan, 12.Heimar Williams, 11.S’bura Sithole, 10.Fred Zeilinga, 9.Conrad Hoffmann, 8.Tera Mtembu, 7.Etienne Oosthuizen,6. Jacques Botes, 5.Stephan Lewies, 4.Wiehan Hay, 3.Lourens Adriaanse, 2.Kyle Cooper, 1.Thomas du Toit. 

Replacements: 16.Monde Hadebe, 17.Matt Stevens, 18.Marco Wentzel, 19.Johan Meyer, 20.Cameron Wright, 21.Lionel Cronje, 22.Tim Swiel.


Photo courtesy of www.sarugbylegends.com