Ricochet News

Sharks must be wary of Cheetahs - Gold

By Natali Iverson - Feb 13, 2015
Sharks must be wary of Cheetahs - Gold

Cell C Sharks Director of Rugby, Gary Gold, has named his side that will be taking on the Toyota Free State Cheetahs for their first 2015 Super Rugby match atKings Park on Saturday afternoon.

Waylon Murray has been placed in the centre, with flanker Renaldo Bothma being placed in the loose trio.

Lock Mouritz Botha has been selected for the second row alongside Springbok, Pieter-Steph du Toit, who has been out of the game for almost a year due to injury.

Patrick Lambie and Cobus Reinach have both been placed at half-back with Jannie du Plessis, captain Bismarck du Plessis and Tendai Mtawarira, all being named in the front row.

Fullbacks JP Pietersen and Frans Steyn as well as flanker, Ryan Kankowski and scrumhalf, Michael Claassens, are all unavailable for selection this week.

The newly appointed director has said that his team will need to be wary of the Cheetahs, as he believes they are a strong team to compete against.

“We are expecting a physical battle against a well-coached team, who have some exciting young players in their squad,” Gold said on the Sharks official website.

"Our guys have prepared well for the tournament and there is a fantastic spirit in the camp.”

"We want to play an exciting brand of rugby which our fans expect and to score tries. The only way to win matches is to score tries and to do that you need to keep the ball in hand,” he added.



15. SP Marais, 14. S’bura Sithole, 13. Waylon Murray, 12. Heimar Williams, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Tera Mtembu, 7. Renaldo Bothma, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4. Mouritz Botha, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (captain), 1. Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Dale Chadwick, 18. Matt Stevens, 19. Marco Wentzel,20. Jean Deysel, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Fred Zeilinga, 23. Odwa Ndungane


15 Willie le Roux, 14 Clayton Blommetjies, 13 Francois Venter, 12 Michael van der Spuy, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Joe Petersen, 9 Sarel Pretorius, 8 Willie Britz, 7 Oupa Mohoje, 6 Jean Cook, 5 Francois Uys (captain), 4 Lood de Jager, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Torsten van Jaarsveld, 1 Danie Minnie.

Substitutes: 16 Stephan Coetzee, 17 BG Uys, 18 Maks van Dyk, 19 Carl Wegner, 20 Boom Prinsloo, 21 Tian Meyer, 22 Willie du Plessis, 23 Cornal Hendricks


IMAGE courtesy of  www.bathchronicle.co.uk