Ricochet News

Southern Kings proud of players selected for SA 'A' team

May 24, 2017
Southern Kings proud of players selected for SA 'A' team

The Southern Kings are proud of the achievement of four of their players who have been selected for the South Africa A side that will be on national duty over the next month when they take on a French Barbarians side in June.

Springbok coach, Allister Coetzee, and SA Rugby president, Mark Alexander, on Tuesday announced the Springboks and SA “A” teams for the three-match June Incoming Tests against France, as well as the SA “A” team that will play two matches against the French Barbarians.

Southern Kings captain Lionel Cronje, winger Makazole Mapimpi and loose-forwards Andisa Ntsila and Chris Cloete were named in the South Africa “A” team. The four players have been instrumental in the Southern Kings’ impressive run in this year’s Vodacom Super Rugby competition.

Southern Kings Chief Operations Officer, Charl Crous, expressed his pride at the achievement of the quartet.

“We are really pleased for our players. Their selection is not only great news for the Southern Kings team, but it bodes well for rugby in the region,” Crous said.

“This achievement is also revealing of the hard work that has been put in by our coaching staff who have managed to bring out the best in our players. The four are further elevated as role models for other youngsters in the region who have dreams of playing at the highest level.

“We wish Andisa, Chris, Lionel and Makazole all the best going forward. We know that they will continue to make us proud, and we are confident that they will continue to gain higher honours in future.”

An elated Southern Kings head coach, Deon Davids, is also proud of the milestone achieved by his players.

“When very few people gave the Southern Kings a chance, these were some of the players who firmly believed from the onset that good things could be achieved this season by the team and individuals. It is rewarding to see that these players’ hard work is being recognised,” Davids said.

“I have watched these players and the rest of our squad work tirelessly to become better players. It is therefore just reward to see some of them already reaching such milestones. We are quite confident that they will represent the country with pride, and we look forward to watching them in the green and gold. Their achievement will also act as motivation for the rest of our squad to continue working hard.”

South Africa 'A' full squad:

Forwards – Ruan Botha, Uzair Cassiem, Chris Cloete, Thomas du Toit, Andries Ferreira, Jason Jenkins, Wilco Louw, Jean-Luc du Preez, Franco Marais, Ox Nche, Sikhumbuzo Notshe, Andisa Ntsila, Trevor Nyakane, Ramone Samuels.

Backs – Ruan Combrinck, Lionel Cronjé, Juan de Jongh, Warrick Gelant, Makazole Mapimpi, Lionel Mapoe, Dewaldt Duvenage, Jamba Ulengo, Francois Venter, Jano Vermaak, Harold Vorster, Fred Zeilinga.