Ricochet News

Southern Kings updated squad, as they prepare for Super Rugby 2017

By Marc Jacobson - Dec 13, 2016
Southern Kings updated squad, as they prepare for Super Rugby 2017

The Southern Kings have been undergoing some stern preparation ahead of the 2017 Super Rugby campaign, which begins in February next year; and to this account, they will head into the competition having found some much-needed confidence and overall team ethos.

Unlike last year, where the Kings squad was merely only finalised and assembled just a couple of weeks before the competition kicked-off due to off-field financial woes, the EC-based side can now enter the 2017 Super Rugby season ripened enough to contest more competitively in one of the world’s most elite provincial rugby competitions.

The squad have been hard at work in preparation and the Super Rugby squad of 40 has already been finalised from the beginning of November – giving the group enough time to prepare, train and move forward together as a collective. The Kings will kick-off their Super Rugby campaign against the Jaguares at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Saturday, February 25th 2017.

Updated Southern Kings training squad of 40:

Props- Schalk Ferreira, Justin Forwood, Chris Heilberg, Schalk van der Merwe, David Murray (trial).

Hookers- Tango Balekile, Martin Bezuidenhout, Mike Willemse.

Locks- Irne Herbst, Cameron Lindsay, Sintu Manjezi, Tyler Paul, Wandile Putuma, Mzwanele Zito.

Flanks- Thembelani Bholi, Chris Cloete, Andisa Ntsila, CJ Velleman, Stefan Willemse, Lusanda Badiyana (trial).

8th Man- Christiaan de Bruin.

Scrumhalves- James Hall, Ricky Schroeder, Johan Steyn, Rudi van Rooyen.

Flyhalves- Lionel Cronje, Pieter-Steyn de Wet, Garrick Mattheus.

Centres- Waylon Murray, Berton Klaasen.

Wings- Alshaun Bock, Ntabeni Dukisa, Siyanda Grey, Neil Maritz, Sampie Mastriet, Wandile Mjekevu, Yaw Penxe, Luzuko Vulindlu.

Fullback- Chrysander Botha, Johann Tromp.

Meanwhile, following the lifeline rescue of the U19 EP Rugby Academy, 19 new young talented rugby boys from various high schools around the country have been signed up to join the union’s academy for 2017. The new respective signings are:

Alulutho Tshakweni (Hudson Park), Rikus van As (Despatch), Darren de Wit (Brandwag), Ronaldo Leendertz (Stirling), Matthew King (Maritzburg College), Matthew Bauer (Glenwood), Mandisi Mthiyane (DHS), Libho Geza ( Hudson Park), Luyolo Dapula (Queens), Cameron Cato (Queens), Ruben le Roux (Framesby), Landile Mlonzi (Pearson), Siphosetho Mazantsana (Cambridge), Louis Strydom (Framesby), Christopher Hollis (Queens), Azizipho Mngcongo (Graeme), Josiah Twum-Boafo (Grey), Christian Ambadiang (Hendrik Verwoerd) and Chulumanco Chutu (Union High).