Ricochet News

Sports Day from DSG and St Andrew's College

Oct 21, 2016
Sports Day from DSG and St Andrew's College

A perfect early summer day seemed to lift the spirits and loosen the muscles during last week’s Sports Day on Lower Field. Although the competition was fierce and athletes tried their utmost for themselves and their Houses, there was a general sense of good sportsmanship and camaraderie in all the events on and around the track.

The DSG and College athletes were on top form and delivered several standout performances on the day. Kelvin Boateng-Aidoo won the much anticipated U19 100m race and achieved Colours for what was probably the most impressive performance of the day. James Quarmby also cleared the Colours height in the U17 High Jump, while Ross Ferguson was awarded Colours for achieving Standard performances in three different events.

Although several records were threatened, the only athlete to set a new record was Jason Thomas in the U14 Pole Vault.

Individual performances are important on Sports Day, but to win the overall competition requires an overall team effort and widespread contributions.  

The overall standings were as follows:

Saner Cup: (Interhouse Cup - most points on Sports Day)

Merriman              310

Graham                  284

Upper                     277

Armstrong             244

Mullins                 205

Espin                     148


Brukman Cup: (Most points in U14 and U15 age groups)

Merriman           106

Upper                  102

Graham               90

Mullins               85

Espin                   71

Armstrong          58


Bevil Rudd Cup: (Most points on Relays Day)

Upper                   95

Merriman            85

Graham                77

Armstrong           72

Mullins                54

Espin                    46


Matt Archer Trophy (Best Senior Middle distance Athlete): Tony Rubombora

Mickey Bryant Cup (U19 800m): James Kirkpatrick

Saner Floating Trophy (Winner of U19 400m): Michael Turner

DSG Cuff Links (Winner of 110m Hurdles): Ross Ferguson

Esterhuysen Cup (Best Jump or Hurdle Performance): Jason Thomas

Nicholson Cup for Endeavour – Senior: Matthew Royle

Kruiskamp Cup for Endeavour – Junior: Dylan Wilson

U14 Pentathlon Trophy: Jason Thomas