Ricochet News

Springbok team chosen for Wales match

Springbok team chosen for Wales match

Springboks coach, Heyneke Meyer, has made four changes to his team for the End of Year tour match against Wales, which will take place at the Millennium Stadium in Cardiff on Saturday.

Prop Tendai “Beast” Mtawarira, hooker, Bismarck du Plessis, flyhalf, Willie le Roux, as well as wings Cornal Hendricks and Lwazi Mvovo, have all been included in the starting line-up for Saturday’s match.

Meyer has made three changes to the backline, as flyhalf, Johan Goosen, wing, Bryan Habana and fullback, JP Pietersen, will not be available for the match against Wales this weekend.

The two changes that have been made in the front row are rotational.

Hooker, Adriaan Strauss, will be moved to the bench, along with Trevor Nyakane and Damian de Allende.

“This tour has been a good test of our depth and we’re looking forward to see what the team can do on Saturday,” Meyer said.

“We will face a fired-up Welsh side this weekend. They played very well against New Zealand and it will be a tough end to our season, but we want to finish on a high and the focus this week has been on ensuring we keep on building on what we’ve done thus far this year.

“All the players coming into the team have been part of our squad for most of the season. They know our plans and structures and now it’s about execution on Saturday.”

South African team to play against Wales:

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Teboho “Oupa” Mohoje, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira


16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Julian Redelinghuys, 19 Lood de Jager, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Francois Hougaard, 22 Handré Pollard, 23 Damian de Allende


CAPTION: Springboks celebrating a narrow 29-25 over Wales at the Millennium Stadium in 2010. IMAGE sourced from the dailymail