Ricochet News

Springboks make six changes for Wallabies game in Perth

By Natali Iverson - Sep 3, 2014
Springboks make six changes for Wallabies game in Perth

The Springboks coach, Heyneke Meyer has made six changes to his team, for the clash against the Wallabies in the Castle Lager Rugby Championship match in Perth on Saturday.

Heyneke has made four changes to his pack for Saturday’s match who includes, Marcell Coetzee, Victor Matfield, Adriaan Strauss and Tendai Mtawarira.

He has also brought Morne Steyn and Jan Serfontein to the backline.

Due to the changes, Bismarck du Plessis, Lood de Jager and Damian de Allende will sitting on the bench during the game.

"Saturday's Test against Australia will take a massive effort from every member of our squad," Meyer said.

"We're not looking at their recent result against New Zealand and we know they will be a tough opponent.

"Similarly, we need to move on from our victories over Argentina, which are now in the past. This is a new challenge and one we have to overcome to stay alive in the competition,” he added.

The Springboks will clash with the Wallabies on Saturday the 6th of September at the Perth Stadium in Perth, Australia.


South Africa:

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Jan Serfontein, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Marcell Coetzee, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.


15 Israel Folau, 14 Adam Ashley-Cooper, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Rob Horne, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Wycliff Palu, 7 Michael Hooper (captain), 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Rob Simmons, 4 Sam Carter, 3 Sekope Kepu, 2 James Hanson, 1 James Slipper


Photo courtesy of www.ewn.co.za