Ricochet News

Springboks on the edge of their seats for 2019 Rugby World Cup draw today

By Marc Jacobson - May 10, 2017
Springboks on the edge of their seats for 2019 Rugby World Cup draw today

The Springboks, coaches, staff and supporters alike, will be holding thumbs for the 2019 Rugby World Cup draw, which will be revealed at 10:00 (SA time) on Wednesday in Japan.

South Africa will eye the reveal out in much anticipation, as due to their 2016 slump in form, they have dropped to 7th on the overall World Rugby Rankings, meaning they will be seeded in the second band of draws, because they are not in the top four, but rather the ‘second four’.

This imposes on their prospects for the 2019 world showpiece, because as a result of dropping to their lowest ever ranking after losing four out of 12 Test matches last year, the Springboks may now be drawn in a pool with the likes of world no.1, New Zealand, the threatening Argentina (band three) and Samoa or Fiji (fourth band qualifiers).

Never to date has the Springboks been pooled alongside their powerhouse rivals, the All Blacks, so the men in Green and Gold will hope to rather be grouped with one of the other first-seeders; England, Ireland or Australia.

Springbok Coach, Allister Coetzee will be joined by New Zealand coach Steve Hanson, Australia’s Michael Cheika, Argentina’s Daniel Hourcade, England’s Eddie Jones and the other coaches of the 12 qualified teams at the draw.

Rugby World Cup 2019 in Japan will comprise 20 teams allocated into four pools of five teams. The 12 directly qualified teams from Rugby World Cup 2015 will be seeded based on the World Rugby Rankings as of Wednesday morning.

The draw will be broadcasted live on SS1 at 10:00.

The bands for the 2019 World Cup draw:

Band One: New Zealand, England, Australia, Ireland

Band Two: Scotland, Wales, South Africa, France

Band Three: Argentina, Japan, Georgia, Italy

Band Four: Oceania 1, Americas 1, Europe 1, Africa 1

Band Five: Oceania 2, Americas 2, Play-Off Winner (between Europe 2 and Oceania 3), Repechage Winner