Ricochet News

Sunfoil Series: Warriors bat first, seek second win against Knights at St. Georges

By Marc Jacobson - Nov 3, 2016
Sunfoil Series: Warriors bat first, seek second win against Knights at St. Georges

The VKB Knights won the toss and elected to bowl first in their Sunfoil Series encounter against the Warriors at St. Georges Park, Port Elizabeth, on Thursday.

The Warriors won their first and only match at St. Georges two weeks ago when they beat the Sunfoil Series title holders, Titans, and will desperately be seeking their second win of the series in this contention.

Last week at Newlands, Cape Town, the Warriors settled for a draw against the struggling Cape Cobras with each side only batting once in the 4-day game as both teams scored initial mammoth totals in a real batsman’s paradise.

The Cobras batted first and made 567 all out, followed by the Warriors’ 525 all out. Highest scorers for the Warriors were: Colin Ackermann (146), Michael Price (99), Somile Seyibokwe (69), Yaseen Vallie (61) and Edward Moore (50).

The Warriors obtained 4.98 points for that match, while the Cobras earned 3.82 points. On the current standings, the Warriors are placed second-last at fifth on 36.60 log points, with the Cobras placed last on 20.34 points.

The Knights are currently placed second on the overall Sunfoil Series standings on 49.62 points, breathing down the Titans’ necks on 51.92 points for that first-place berth.

The Warriors have dropped Michael Price for this encounter, while Andrew Birch sustained a side-strain injury and Sisanda Magala has been rested. They have been replaced by Gionne Koopman, Anrich Nortje and Aya Gqamane respectively.

Warriors squad: Colin Ackermann, Tladi Bokako, Simon Harmer (captain), Gihahn Cloete, Clyde Fortuin, Aya Gqamane, Gionne Koopman, Edward Moore, Lesiba Ngoepe, Anrich Nortje, Somila Seyibokwe, Yaseen Vallie, Basheer Walters.

Knights squad: Tumelo Bodibe, Mbulelo Budaza, Theunis de Bruyn (captain), Marchant de Lange, Dillon du Preez, Michael Erlank, David Miller, Luthando Mnyanda, Tshepo Ntuli, Duanne Olivier, Robin Peterson, Rudi Second, Shadley van Schalkwyk. 

Image: Basheer Walters in action for the Warriors