Ricochet News

Super Rugby: Sharks and Lions teams announced

By Natali Iverson - Feb 19, 2015
Super Rugby: Sharks and Lions teams announced

Cell C Sharks Director of Rugby, Gary Gold, has made a few changes to his team for this weekend’s Super Rugby match against the Xeros Golden Lions at Kings Park in Durban on Saturday.

Lock, Lubabalo "Giant" Mtyanda, will be making his debut for the squad, while skipper, Bismarck du Plessis, will return after missing the game against the Cheetahs last weekend, due to a shoulder injury.

“Due to injuries, we have had to necessitate a few changes to the team,” Gold said.

Centre, S’bura Sithole, lock, Mouritz Botha as well as prop, Beast Mtawarira, will all be unavailable for selection this week, with wing Odwa Ndungane, Mtyanda and prop Dale Chadwick taking their place.

“Apart from those injury-enforced changes, we have tried to keep the team as consistent as possible, so that players have another opportunity to get the wrongs of the past weekend right,” Gold added.

Meanwhile Lions head coach, Johan Ackermann, has also announced his squad for the match with Jacques van Rooyen coming in at loosehead prop at the expensive of Schalk van der Merwe, who has been relegated to the bench.

Flanker,Jaco Kriel, will be unavailable for the match due to a groin injury, with Derick Minnie taking his place at openside flank, alongside Warwick Tecklenburg at right flank.

Ackermann made no changes to the backline for this match.

Robbie Coetzee and Julian Redelinghuys have been placed on the bench, as they have both recovered from their respective injuries.

Lock JP du Preez will be making his Super Rugby debut, withRuaan Lerm being placed on the bench covering the loose forward .

Centre Harold Vorster has also been placed on the bench and will also be making his debut for the team, should he be called onto the field.

The Teams:


15. SP Marais, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Waylon Murray, 12. Heimar Williams, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Patrick Lambie, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Tera Mtembu, 7. Renaldo Bothma, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Pieter-Steph du Toit, 4. Lubabalo Mtyanda, 3. Jannie du Plessis, 2. Bismarck du Plessis (captain), 1. Dale Chadwick

Substitutes: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Thomas du Toit, 18. Matt Stevens, 19. Marco Wentzel, 20. Jean Deysel, 21. Conrad Hoffmann, 22. Fred Zeilinga, 23. Andre Esterhuizen


15. Andries Coetzee, 14. Ruan Combrinck, 13. Lionel Mapoe, 12. Howard Mnisi, 11. Courtnall Skosan, 10. Marnitz Boshoff, 9.  Ross Cronje, 8.  Warren Whiteley (captain), 7.Warwick Tecklenburg, 6. Derick Minnie, 5. Franco Mostert, 4. Martin Muller, 3. Ruan Dreyer, 2. Malcolm Marx, 1. Jacques van Rooyen

Substitutes: 16. Robbie Coetzee, 17. Schalk van der Merwe, 18. Julian Redelinghuys, 19. JP du Preez, 20. Ruaan Lerm, 21. Faf de Klerk, 22. Elton Jantjies, 23. Harold Vorster


IMAGE supplied by www.myalberton.co.za