Ricochet News

Swiel makes Sharks’ starting line-up

Swiel makes Sharks’ starting line-up

Tim Swiel will be making his first Currie Cup start for the Cell C Sharks when they clash with the Free State Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on Saturday.

Before last weekend, the former Western Province flyhalf had only played for the Sharks in the Super Rugby. However, his Currie Cup debut was as a substitute for Jaco van Tonder when his team lost to the GWK Griquas. 

Following subsequent changes within the Shark’s team, Swiel has been given a spot in the starting line-up.

Meanwhile, S’bura Sithole is back as the outside centre, with Andre Esterhuizen coming in as his midfield partner.

Lionel Cronje will be replacing Fred Zeilinga at flyhalf and Tonderai Chavhanga returns as left wing in place of Sithole.

Dale Chadwick will be replacingThomas du Toit at loosehead, with Marco Wentzel coming in as lock for the injuredWiehan Hay.

The Sharks will be facing the Cheetahs on Saturday the 13th of September at the Free State Stadium in Bloemfontein.

Cell C Sharks team: 

Tim Swiel, Odwa Ndungane, S’bura Sithole, Andre Esterhuizen, Tonderai Chavhanga, Lionel Cronje, Conrad Hoffmann, Tera Mtembu (captain), Etienne Oosthuizen, Jacques Botes, Stephan Lewies, Marco Wentzel, Lourens Adriaanse, Kyle Cooper, Dale Chadwick.


 Monde Hadebe, Thomas du Toit, Johan Meyer, Khaya Majola, Cameron Wright, Fred Zeilinga, SP Marais.


Photo courtesy of www.zimbio.com