Ricochet News

Theron makes two changes for Baby Boks semi-finals

JUNE 15, 2015
Theron makes two changes for Baby Boks semi-finals

Junior Springbok coach, Dawie Theron, has only made two changes to his team who will be facing England for their World Rugby Under-20 Championship semi-final match in Calvisano on Monday evening.

DHL Western Province flank, Rikus Bothma, has been selected for the No 6 jersey, in place of Jacques Vermeulen and Malcolm Jaer from the Eastern Province Kings will be replacing Western Province winger,Grant Hermanus on the bench.

The rest of the team who defeated Australia 46-13 in Calvisano last week, have stayed the same.

Theron has said that the changes made are a part of his team’s “rotational policy.”

“We know this tournament is a marathon and not a sprinting race and we therefore have to be sensible with our player management process. All the players are fit and in good shape and now they must go out and do the business,” Theron said.

“We are not looking at England’s previous result (they lost to France in their final pool match). They are in the semi-finals and will be looking to play in a third successive final. We know they will be highly motivated and will definitely have a good plan against us,” he added.

Theron and his management staff have made sure that the players are well rested and ready for the upcoming match.

“Although we have seen some rain here the past few days, the weather is still hot and humid and we therefore tried to give the players as must rest as possible.”

“They are refreshed again and I am very pleased with their attitude and readiness. Earlier today (Sunday) we took them for an outing to Maranello, which they thoroughly enjoyed, and will finish off our preparations with the captains run in the early evening,” Theron said.

The Junior Springbok team:

15. Warrick Gelant (Blue Bulls), 14. Khanyo Ngcukana (Western Province), 13. EW Viljoen (Western Province), 12. Daniel du Plessis (Western Province), 11. Leolin Zas (Western Province), 10. Brendon Thomson (DHL Western Province), 9. Ivan van Zyl (Blue Bulls), 8. Hanro Liebenberg (Blue Bulls), 7. Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks), 6.  Rikus Bothma (Western Province), 5. RG Snyman (Vodacom Blue Bulls), 4. Jason Jenkins (Blue Bulls), 3. Thomas du Toit (Sharks), 2. Joseph Dweba (Free State Cheetahs), 1. Ox Nche (Free State Cheetahs)


16. Jan van der Merwe (Blue Bulls), 17. Mzamo Majola (Sharks), 18. Frans van Wyk (Western Province), 19. Hyron Andrews (Sharks), 20. Dan du Preez (Sharks), 21. Marco Jansen van Vuren (Golden Lions), 22. Tinus de Beer (Blue Bulls), 23. Malcolm Jaer (EP Kings)


IMAGE supplied by www.rugby365.com