Ricochet News

Three new Kings players to make Super Rugby debut

JULY 6, 2016

The Southern Kings have announced three new inclusions to their Vodacom Super Rugby squad ahead of their clash against the Emirates Lions in Johannesburg on Friday.

Head Coach Deon Davids has made six changes to his starting line-up, including a change in captaincy with Edgar Marutlulle taking over the role after Steven Sykes was not available for personal reasons.

Four changes in the front see Sti Sithole rotating with Schalk Ferreira at loosehead prop, while Jacobie Adriaanse returns at tighthead after missing out last week’s game against the Highlanders due to a late calf strain and Schalk Oelosfe comes in at left lock in place of Sykes.

Making his debut for the Southern Kings and earning his first start in the Vodacom Super Rugby competition is Andile Ntsila, who joined the Southern Kings on loan from the SWD Eagles yesterday [subs: Monday 4 July].

Davids said Ntsila would have a significant role to play as a fetcher for the team, but he was confident in his abilities.

Davids has also opted to start with James Hall at scrumhalf, who returns from playing for the SA U20s in the junior world championships in Manchester, England. At Flyhalf, Elgar Watts moves onto the bench, with Louis Fouche starting.

Also making their Super Rugby debuts are Sintu Manjezi and Jeremy Ward, who will be on the bench for Friday’s game, having been called up from the EP Currie Cup squad.

Marutlulle said he was looking forward to the match against the Lions, saying it was a great opportunity for the team to showcase their skills, and that they had taken heart from their previous performance against the Lions at Nelson Mandela Bay.

The team:

15: Malcolm Jaer
14: Lukhanyo Am
13: Stefan Watermeyer
12: Shane Gates (VC)
11: Wandile Mjekevu
10: Louis Fouche
9: James Hall
8: Aidon Davis
7: Stefan Willemse
6: Andisa Ntsila (Debut)
5: JC Astle
4: Schalk Oelofse
3: Jacobie Adriaanse
2: Edgar Marutlulle (C)
1: Sti Sithole

16: Martin Bezuidenhout
17: Schalk Ferreira
18: Tom Botha
19: Sintu Manjezi             (Debut)
20: Jacques Engelbrecht
21: Ntando Kebe
22: Dewald Human
23: Jeremy Ward              (Debut)