Ricochet News

VIDEO: Southern Kings announce confidence-boosting team to face Jaguares

By Marc Jacobson - Feb 23, 2017
VIDEO: Southern Kings announce confidence-boosting team to face Jaguares

Southern Kings Head Coach, Deon Davids, on Thursday announced his match-23 to face the Jaguares in their first Super Rugby encounter at the NMB Stadium on Saturday.

With Schalk Ferreira named the seasonal captain, the announcement sees four new Super Rugby caps relinquishing a chance to take the field for the first time.

The new caps are: winger Makazole Mapimpi, centre Berton Klaasen and the lock pairing of Irne Herbst and Mzwanele Zito.

Davids emphasized the importance of framing a confident mind-set heading into the rest of the campaign.

“We will have to focus a lot on ourselves, in terms of what we want to bring and how we will do it. We are looking forward to expressing ourselves and seeing our experienced players as well as the young ones getting out there and making use of the opportunity of playing Vodacom Super Rugby,” Davids said at the team announcement.

On their scrummaging prospects against the Jaguares, who are in essence the Argentinean national scrumming unit, Captain Ferreira is in no oblivion to the battle that awaits his pack upfront on Saturday.

“They will probably be the strongest scrummaging side in the competition. We have worked extra hard on it with Coach Deon Davids and Springbok forwards coach Matt Proudfoot as well, who came on an on-and-off basis. Technically, we have put in the work on the scrums,” Ferreira said at the press conference.   

The match will kick off at 17:15 on Saturday 25th February in their first of seven home games at the NMB Stadium this season.

Kings match-23:

15. Chrysander Botha

14. Makazole Mapimpi

13. Berton Klaasen

12. Waylon Murray

11. Malcolm Jaer

10. Lionel Cronje (V/C)

9. Louis Schreuder

8. Ruaan Lerm

7. Stefan Willemse

6. Andisa Ntsila

5. Mzwanele Zito

4. Irne Herbst

3. Ross Geldenhuys

2. Michael Willemse

1. Schalk Ferreira (C)

REPLACEMENTS: 16. Martin Bezuidenhout, 17. Schalk van der Merwe, 18. Chris Heiberg, 19. Tyler Paul, 20. Chris Cloete, 21. Rudi van Rooyen, 22. Masixole Banda, 23. Luzuko Vulindlu.

Watch for an overview of the team announcement and press conference, adjoined by Jaguares Head Coach, Raul Perez: