Ricochet News

Women in Transport Awards Finalists Announced

Oct 12, 2016
Women in Transport Awards Finalists Announced

Finalists for the Women in Transport Awards will all gather in Durban on 18 October to be honoured and rewarded for achieving excellence within the rail and maritime industry in Africa.

“The awards are segmented into five categories to cater for female contribution across the broad spectrum of the transport industry”, says Awards Director, Ms Athi Myoli. She continues to say: “The amount of nominations received from across Africa is overwhelming and the positive response is testimony that there are many successes in the industry that need the recognition that they so rightfully deserve. “Head of Shipper's Services at Ghana Shippers' Authority, Ms Naa Densua Aryeetey agrees and says: “It is indeed a worthy event to recognise women who have contributed immensely one way or the other to the development of African maritime and rail industry”.

The category finalists (in no specific order) are as follows:

Best Performing Institution in Transport:

  • Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA)
  • Transport Education Training Authority (TETA)
  • Gautrain Management Agency (GMA)

 Best Head of Department in Transport:

  • Nelisiwe Mbenekazi, Transnet Port Terminals (Eastern Cape, South Africa)
  • Silindile Mkhabela, Transnet National Ports Authority (Port of Durban, South Africa)
  • Nandipha Mtsokoba, Transnet National Ports Authority (Port of Durban, South Africa)
  • Maria Mzimela, Transnet Freight Rail (Durban, South Africa)
  • Debbie Phillips, MBS Transport (Pretoria, South Africa)
  • Sylvia Siyo, Transnet National Ports Authority (Durban, South Africa)
  • Pinky Zungu, Transnet National Ports Authority (Durban, South Africa)

Best Innovation Partnership in Service Delivery (Project):

  • Sisters on Ships (Theresa Williams)
  • JRS Solutions (Seshme Holloway)
  • Coega Industrial Development Zone (Linda Sityoshwana)
  • Transnet Freight Rail (Maria Mzimela)

Best Port Operator or Terminal in Africa:

  • Namibia Port, Namibia
  • Port of Maputo, Mozambique
  • Port of Tema, Ghana
  • Transnet, South Africa
  • DCG - DSM Corridor Group

Best Skills Contributor:

  • Nokwanda Dlamini, Ethekwini Maritime Cluster Incubation (South Africa)
  • Rose Luke, University of Johannesburg (South Africa)
  • Khomotjo Mphalalele, Transnet MSoE (South Africa)
  • Aruna Bunwaree Ramasha, Mauritius Port Authority (Mauritius)
  • Theresa Violet Williams, Sisters on Ships (South Africa)

The Women in Transport Awards is co-located with the African Ports Evolution and African Rail Evolution forums and winners will be announced by South African Deputy Minister of Transport, Hon. Lydia Sindisiwe Chikunga who is also keynote speaker at the event.

Event dates and location:

Co-located with African Port Evolution and African Rail Evolution

Date: 18 October 2016

Location: Durban International Convention Centre

RSVP: Please RSVP to Perpetua Muza

[email protected] by Friday 17:00