Blitzbokke ready again for a touch of ‘Specmagic’


The Blitzbok squad for the upcoming Dubai sevens tournament has been announced and Selvyn Davids will hold the team’s captaincy reins.

The quick-footed player, who has already played in 29 tournaments for the South African sevens team, is at the helm of a team that has experienced stalwarts such as Ryan Oosthuizen and Justin Geduld, while there are also a few rookies in the tour group.

Quewin Nortjé and Katlego Letebele can make their international sevens debut in the United Arab Emirates.

In addition, “Specmagic” – Rosko Specman – is also back in the team and even at the age of 34, he has enough momentum to make opponents gasp for air.

Regular captain Siviwe “Shakes” Soyizwapi’s knee injury means that he will not be part of the action until next year.

According to Davids, who will become the 22nd Blitzbok captain, it is a great honor and responsibility to lead the team.

“The Blitzbokke is a very important link in my life and with Siviwe who has been on the crutches list for so long, it is an honor for me to lead the team. I enjoy the support of the leadership group and now we can get ready to take on Samoa in the opening game,” said the 29-year-old player.

South Africa have been placed in Group A of the Dubai sevens tournament and in addition to Samoa they will also play against Canada and New Zealand next Saturday.

Blitzbok squad for Dubai: Christie Grobbelaar, Ryan Oosthuizen, Impi Visser, Zain Davids, Katlego Letebele, Masande Mtshali, Ronald Brown, Selvyn Davids, Dewald Human, Justin Geduld, Shilton van Wyk, Rosko Specman and Quewin Nortjé.